book reviews / writers resources

Marshall Plan for Novel Writing–Gets You Organized

Writers believe that the books we write must come from the soul, not a rubric. It’s true, but they’re more salable if they meet conventional ideas of what people like to read.

In my case, I knew what I wanted to write, but I became lost along the way from opening paragraph to ending climax. Marshall Plan for Novel Writing rescued me, taught me how to be organized. Now, it’s hints are second nature, which allows my creativity to show without being hidden by my stumbling efforts to tell a story.

Here’s my review:

The Marshall Plan for Novel Writing: A 16-Step Program Guaranteed to Take You from Idea to Completed ManuscriptThe Marshall Plan for Novel Writing

A 16-Step Program Guaranteed to Take You from Idea to Completed Manuscript

by Evan Marshall
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
This book was perfect for me. An organized approach to writing, detailing what you shouldn’t forget in a novel. I like step-by-step (if you’ve read my book Building a Midshipman, you’ll understand me), reminders. Sometimes my gut gets off target and I forget things like crises and resolution, tying together plot lines. I used it as a check list at the completion of my novel.

Overall, his 16-step program might be the one book you shouldn’t miss.

View all my reviews >>

Share

11 thoughts on “Marshall Plan for Novel Writing–Gets You Organized

  1. Pingback: 31 Essential Books for Every Writer « Word Dreams…

  2. Pingback: Writer’s Tip #46: Beware of Word Selection « Word Dreams…

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Noble’s Book of Writing Blunders « Word Dreams…

  4. I am quite the opposite, actually, I have tried to write many novels using the Marshall plan, and have given up. To me, it seems as if everything I write using it seems like every other book in the publishing buisness. I, personally, need to be able to work a novel however I would like to.

    • I find myself agreeing with you, Ayla. I tend to be formulaic in nature, so I like the structure, but since my only published books are non-fiction, I may need a dose more of creativity in my thrillers.

  5. Pingback: Writers Tips #84: 20 Hints that Mark the Novice Writer « Jacqui Murray's WordDreams…

  6. Pingback: 30 Essential Books for Every Writer « Jacqui Murray's WordDreams…

  7. Pingback: Writer’s Tip #46: Beware of Word Selection | Jacqui Murray's WordDreams...

  8. Pingback: #IWSG–My Writing Style Doesn’t Work | WordDreams...

  9. Pingback: #IWSG–My Writing Style Doesn’t Work « Jacqui Murray

  10. Pingback: 36 Essential Books for Every Writer | WordDreams...

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

