digital books / reading / writers

One Big Problem with Kindle–And It’s a Deal Killer

No one I know can believe I haven’t bought a Kindle. I love reading–probably consume two books a week. Not to mention how many I purchase for research. Wouldn’t it be easier to have all those writers’ research books on a Kindle?

Well, maybe that makes sense, but that’s a different post. When I buy a fiction book, I read it. then, I pass it on to my husband and my daughter. Maybe my son. At least two or three downline readers benefit from the same $7.99 investment. I know when old age strikes, I’ll read each of these great books again, and think they’re brand new. Which is exciting. How great would it be to read Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean Auel again, for the first time?

How do I get around that problem–sharing books? Kindle doesn’t make that easy. Until Kindle puts books in a pdf Sim and Schuster on Scribd.comformat, so I can download them to a flashdrive and hand them off to the next enthusiastic reader, I won’t be buying one.

I’m told that’ll be soon. I post my books on Scribd.com where you can download as a pdf (or a doc if the author posts that way). You can get books by Simon and Schuster, Princeton Review, Harvard Review, MIT, Project Gutenberg–all in pdf on Scribd. Doesn’t it just make sense, to offer products in a format that appeals to buyers? Makes sense to me.

For more on this topic read

What’s the Best Way to Read eBooks–Kindle or Other

E-books Become Easier to Sell–Thank You Google

Update: Since I posted this over two years ago, Kindle has added the ability to share with friends/family, but there’s a time limit. The good part is you’ll never wonder who you leant your book to that never got returned. The bad news is, lots of people I know don’t get through a book in a few weeks despite their best of intentions. I wonder if you can simple re-lend. Anyone have experience with that?



Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-sixth grade, creator of two technology training books for middle school and four ebooks on technology in education. She is the author of Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.comEditorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing TeachersCisco guest blogIMS tech expert, and a bi-weekly contributor to Write Anything. Currently, she’s editing a thriller for her agent that should be out to publishers this summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab,Ask a Tech Teacher.

Follow me.

5 thoughts on “One Big Problem with Kindle–And It’s a Deal Killer

  1. Great work! This is the kind of information that are supposed to be shared
    across the web. Disgrace on the seek engines for no longer positioning this publish upper!
    Come on over and talk over with my web site . Thanks =)

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

