book reviews / characters / communication / decision making / writers resources

Man Who Mistook His Wife For a Hat

The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat and Other Clinical TalesThe Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat and Other Clinical Tales

by Oliver W. Sacks

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
The first time I heard of Man who Mistook His Wife for a Hat, I was amused that anyone would do that–see his wife and think ‘hat’? How silly! I figured when I read the book, I’d find this was a clever play on words. It didn’t take long, though–less than a chapter–to find out that this was the world of one man and his psychosis. His brain couldn’t collect the pieces picked up by his eyes and put them together sufficiently to determine what was his wife and what was the thing he’d put on his head to keep it dry.

Sacks tells this story, and many other odd illnesses that our fellow humans suffer, with empathy and knowledge but no pity. I like that. He approaches these individuals with an interest in helping them recover a reality they’ve lost, not with any attitude that they are somehow lessor individuals because their bodies have stopped functioning like those around them. As a writer, I want to 1) include these fascinating oddities into my characters, and 2) share his sense of wonder about what is outside the norm with my readers.

I came away from my time spent with Oliver Sacks and his patients wondering what I’ve missed when watching others, what goes on in their brains that I can’t see and maybe haven’t taken the time to understand. Is the human race more different than the same? Now, one book richer in my intellect, I’m quite sure that the slight difference in DNA between us and chimps and other life forms doesn’t nearly tell the real story of life and its many forms.

View all my reviews >>

Share

10 thoughts on “Man Who Mistook His Wife For a Hat

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Man Who Mistook His Wife For a Hat « Word Dreams… -- Topsy.com

  2. This is a great book! It’s been a few years since I last read it…but if I recall there was a man in the book that described the taste of chicken as “pointy” – his taste was related to shapes. Amazing…

    • It is. My son had learning disabilities which was my launch point for this reading (on mental health). I came to understand that many people see the world their own way, not mine, and that’s not bad. I.e., Daniel Tammet. What a brilliant mind wrapped around a unique communication style.

  3. I laid on my kitchen floor today and looked at its walls from the point of view of my 1 1/2 year old son, trying to imagine how he sees them. Does he admire the granite counter tops, or does everything revolve around the milk waiting for him in the fridge?

    Perspective is a wonderful and powerful thing.

    Have you seen The Diving Bell and the Butterfly? It’s an excellent showcase of how a man trapped inside his body perceives the world around him. I think you’d like it.

  4. You’ve made the argument for perspective powerfully with such a quick story. I love it. So true.

    I’ll check out the book you mentioned. Sounds good. Thanks for visiting.

  5. Pingback: Thriller Writers: These Books Are For You « Word Dreams…

  6. Pingback: Ahat word | AfricanXpressions

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

