book reviews / nature / research / setting / writers resources

Book Review: A Virtual Tour of Africa

National Audubon Society Field Guide to African WildlifeNational Audubon Society Field Guide to African Wildlife

by National Audubon Society

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I purchased this book because several settings in my most recent novel take place in East Africa. A trip there wasn’t in the cards for me, so I had to make do with a variety of virtual tours. This Field Guide proved to be a wonderful resource.

It includes an overview of the continent, color pictures of flora and fauna, and a detailed explanation of each life form. I much appreciated the discussion it provided of the various habitats–the savanna, the Great Rift Valley, Ngorongoro, the Sahara, the Kalahari, and the myriad of other habitats that cover this huge continent.

One of the most valuable parts of this book is the huge selection of color plates on several hundred species living in Africa. They are so detailed, I was able to bring the Gorillas and dik-dik and the other birds, reptiles, mammals that populate my novel to life as rich, full-featured individuals.

I’d recommend this for anyone traveling to Africa or using the continent as a setting in their writing.

View all my reviews >>

Share

4 thoughts on “Book Review: A Virtual Tour of Africa

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Book Review: A Virtual Tour of Africa « Word Dreams… -- Topsy.com

  2. I love resources like this. While I’m not planning on a trip to Africa or have any scenes planned in my book, I have found virtual tours on Google maps (street view) and Google Earth to be very enlightening. There’s a post on my blog about it.

    However, I’ll bet Google hasn’t invaded Africa yet, but I could be wrong.

    • Africa is one of the places I would love to visit. There are so many things there that we can’t see anywhere else–wildebeest, the Great Rift, the savanna, herds. I have yet to find a Street view link, but am still looking.

      Thanks for dropping by. Come again!

  3. Pingback: World Travel Tours » should i put college study on hold and go round the world for a year?

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

