book reviews / editing / writers resources / writers tips / writing

How to Self-Edit–Book Review

Self-Editing for Fiction Writers, Second Edition: How to Edit Yourself Into PrintSelf-Editing for Fiction Writers, Second Edition: How to Edit Yourself Into Print

by Renni Browne

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I am big on self-editing. I don’t want a professional or even my writer’s group to see my mss before it’s as good as I can get it. I’m like that in all parts of my life. I clean the house before my house cleaner shows up so she never knows how messy I really am.

I have a long list of self-edits I go through (checking for passive, the use of all forms of ‘to be’, repeated words, etc.), but I found a book I like called Self Editing for Fiction Writers, by Renni Browne and Dave King. It covers everything one should look at in their mss in three different ways:

  • Each chapter covers a multi-page summary on how to do it
  • Each chapter includes a checklist at the end to apply to your own writing
  • Each chapter includes exercises to allow you to practice the skill if it’s one that is difficult for you

When I first bought Browne and King’s book, I read the entire thing. Not much new in it from what I already knew about writing (I have nine published books I’ve been involved with), but it did include everything I considered important to a well-developed story. Here’s a partial list of the skills:

  • Show and tell
  • Characterization and exposition
  • Point of View
  • Dialogue mechanics
  • Interior monologue
  • Voice

Now that I knew I can trust it, I went directly to the checklists, to make sure I was doing each part correctly. For example, here’s the Show and Tell Checklist:

  • How often do you use narrative summary
  • If there’s too much narrative, convert some of it to scenes (that works well to speed up a plot and turn dull into dynamic. I love this one)
  • Make sure there’s enough narrative so you don’t bounce from scene to scene
  • Does narrative describe feelings? No good.

Overall, for the meticulous writer, this is a good book. My creative friends who want to write off the top of their heads and refuse to be constrained by protocols and rules–I’d skip this one.

View all my reviews >>

Share

9 thoughts on “How to Self-Edit–Book Review

  1. This is an outstanding post. I was just recommending a book to a friend concerning self editing, but I wasn’t aware this one existed.

    I find books which give actionable items work the best for me. If nothing else I can be sure to at least cover a checklist or set of bullets and be much further along. Likewise I can incorporate intelligent checklists with my own home grown sort.

    Thank you again for making me aware of this book.

    • You may certainly ask:

      he was having difficulty editing a story to include structure and nuance, so I recommended the following:

      Story Structure Architect by Victoria Lynn Schmidt, Ph.D. – a basic reference guide for story structure and not very helpful save brushing up on the basics.

      Between the Lines by Jessica Page Morrell – I recommended this one because it gives action items to try in stories and helps heavy handed writers pace themselves a bit more.

      Writer’s Guide to Character Traits by Linda Edelstein, PH.D. – This is a good book for filling out characters with quick traits that are true to life. By way of example: the book gives character traits of an alcoholic, the family of the alcoholic, and adults who had an alcoholic parent. While I don’t think anyone should live/breath this book, it’s nice to pick up a trait or two for a story.

      The Writer’s Journey by Christopher Vogler – I don’t know if this one is any good by anyone else’s standards, but I am a huge fan of Joseph Campbell and the hero’s journey. This book gives a more…let’s say…mythological framework in how to write or understand stories.

      Sorry for such a long reply, but I think if anyone can evaluate and give feedback on the books I’m reading, it’s you.

  2. Pingback: 31 Essential Books for Every Writer « Word Dreams…

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Noble’s Book of Writing Blunders « Word Dreams…

  4. Pingback: Writer’s Tip #90: 11 Tips to Consider Before Declaring Your Manuscript Done « Jacqui Murray's WordDreams…

  5. Pingback: 30 Essential Books for Every Writer « Jacqui Murray's WordDreams…

  6. Pingback: 36 Essential Books for Every Writer | WordDreams...

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

