authors / bloggers resources / sales / writers resources

How to Copyright Your Blog Posts–FREE

There are a lot of ways writers attempt to protect their work.blogs

  • We get it copyrighted by the US Copyright office.
  • We publish it (if we can).
  • We send ourselves a copy of our work in a sealed envelope and put it in a safe (then we can prove it was ours before someone stole it).
  • We add the ‘creative commons’ logo to remind people this is our work product, not free to anyone who sees it.
  • We assume it’s protected as Intellectual Property (i.e., we are naive)
  • If you’re like me, I keep all my previous digital drafts–for decades. No one will pretend my thoughts are theirs.

There’s another way I ran across reading my friend Ramblin’ Rick’s blog: Go to My Free Copyright. As the site says, MyFreeCopyright.com provides a third-party, non-repudiation, registered dating of your original digital creation. By using this service, you publicly associate your digital copyright and defined rights to you.”

I tried it on my other blog, Ask a Tech Teacher. Every day, they send me confirmation that my work is in their registry. When I log in, I can go back as far as the beginning of my registration and they have a copy of my blog, a registration date and a digital fingerprint.

And, it’s free, which suits my budget perfectly.

Share

5 thoughts on “How to Copyright Your Blog Posts–FREE

  1. Thnks so much for the imporant tip, Jacqui! Many in the publishing world tout this concern as unwarranted, but I remain skeptical and cautious. Hope all is well with you. –Cheri

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

