Amazon / business / digital books / publishing / writers resources / writing

Kindle Sells 6 Ebooks for Every Traditional Book

Jeff Bezos, Amazon.com founder and CEO, reported there are 6 Kindles sold for every 10 physical books.I’m not surprised. Jeff has done a great job of making it easy for us-all to read the thousands of ebooks available on Amazon. You can read Kindle ebooks on your smart phone, iPad–there’s even a Kindle reading app for your PC or Mac. In fact, the newest Kindle includes all of the below:

  • 50% better contrast which means you can read in bright sunlight – no glare
  • 21% smaller body while keeping the same 6″ size reading area
  • 17% Lighter – Only 8.5 ounces, weighs less than a paperback
  • A single battery charge lasts up to one month with wireless off
  • stores up to 3,500 books
  • built-In Wi-Fi
  • 20% faster page turns
  • PDF Reader
  • real page numbers
  • text-to-speech–Kindle can read English-language content out loud to you

There are lots of reasons why a reader might choose an ereader over a traditional book:

  • they are more affordable
  • they are more portable. You can always have a book with you.
  • they are more varied. Lots of new and exciting authors are publishing books who wouldn’t have been able to using the traditional model.
  • more people are inspired to read by this 21st century approach to what’s been around since the 15th century’s Gutenberg Press

These are all anecdotal reasons. If you use a Kindle or Nook or any of the other ereaders, why did you join the revolution?


Share

14 thoughts on “Kindle Sells 6 Ebooks for Every Traditional Book

  1. The Kindle / eBooks are a strange thing. Yes, you can read books on them, but that is only half the story.

    I know of a few people with two (or more) Kindle’s. They will have one for work / travel and leave the other beside the bed. The Kindle will stay in sync (ie your bed Kindle is on the same page as your work one).

    Probably the main reason I buy ebooks is the price & convenience. It’s happened a few times where someone has suggested “have you read xyz”. (In Australia) the hardcopy will retail for $25 – $45.

    The Kindle version is always significantly cheaper – sometimes they will be as cheap as $6 – $15. At that price point, I won’t give it a second thought and buy the book straight away.

    $25 is just a little too much to throw around.

    • I didn’t know you could keep two Kindles synced to the same page. I assumed it downloaded to the hardware. That’s appealing. We share books in my family. One book goes through 3-4 people, so I like the family sharing program.

      I like Nook’s slightly larger screen, but I’m afraid B&N won’t be there, ala Borders. I won’t buy a Kindle until summer so maybe I’ll change my mind by then.

  2. Last Christmas I received an iPad as a gift (and I’ve become a total iPad junkie). I have the Kindle app installed, but I’m really considering going totally e-mad and getting a real Kindle. The page numbering thing is annoying, and as convenient as the iPad is for so many things, it’s a bit heavy and awkward for reading a book. (I’m currently reading Matterhorn, which is almost 600 pages. And on Monday I went into New York for an M.D. appointment, feeling pretty stupid because I had both my iPad and the hardcover book in my briefcase.)

    Thanks for listing all the great features on the new Kindle, Jacqui. Now I really, really want one. (And a year ago I swore I’d never give up “real” books.) I’ll let you when I bite the bullet. –Cheri

    • Please do let me know if you select the Kindle. I’m interested that the iPad doesn’t provide a good reading experience. I was hoping I might just purchase that and not have both–even though it costs so much more. You don’t feel that works well. Interesting.

      Hope the dr went well… Congrats on ABNA.

    • Great article. I had no idea they had to license the books, at such a price. I thought the cost would be in the ereaders. Interesting place, this brave new world.

  3. I LOVE my kindle, and yes, its actually so much more easier on the eyes than a laptop screen, or even a paper book!

    But I still plan on buying paper books. I had a glitch once with kindle that was kinda depressing, and that doesn’t happen with paper books. I also feel it is still faster to look for what I want in a paper book–flip through the pages–then having to use search in the Kindle. I wonder if the iPad is better, because I keep on wanting to touch the kindle screen like it was a touch screen but I can’t.

    So there are ups and downs to both! Thank you for letting us know about the sales differences! That’s very telling.

    • I’m convinced ereaders are the future of books for lots of reasons. It’s just painful getting there. You hit one of my biggest worries–the electronics. What if I can’t open the book in that ten minutes I’m waiting for my daughter to try on clothes at the store. That would annoy me.

      I’d say the text-to-speech is big–like Audiobooks–but I’ve heard it’s fairly neutral in tone. Maybe that’ll be fixed with the next iteration.

      Thanks for stopping by, Ollin!

  4. I was given a Sony eReader for Christmas in ’09 and to be honest, I haven’t used it much as I still buy real books. Every now and then I’ll stick a book on it I can’t wait to get to a shop for, but I just love real books. I suppose I’m rather traditionalist, but I definitely enjoy my eReader when I make use of it.

    • I don’t know much about the Sony. Do they have a lot of books in their store? I too love the smell and feel of books, which is why I haven’t taken the plunge. I did find a book I wanted on Amazon. It cost $9.99 as a paperback and $1.99 as an ebook, which has me looking even more closely at an ereader. If I used it just for the books that are that much cheaper, ROI would be, ummm, less than a year I think.

      • Forgive me for not responding sooner!

        The Sony eReader doesn’t have it’s own store – you buy books through other shops that support it. In the UK, that’s Waterstones and WH Smith. Not being able to buy through somewhere like Amazon is a problem, but my reader is older so I’m not sure if newer ones support the Kindle format.

        You also have to factor in things like battery life. I used mine on an 8 hour flight, but it only lasted 2 hours. Real books won’t switch off. Mine is also too old to have a backlight and I wasn’t about to spend the extra £20 for the privilege of reading in the dark.

      • I’m thinking that reading will become a hybrid–like cars that use gas or battery. We’ll use hard copies when appropriate and digital other times. If I ever got stuck on an 8-hour plane flight without a book, I’d become a raving nuisance. I take a book everywhere, in case I have a few minutes of down time.

  5. Pingback: Book Review: The Breakout Novelist « Jacqui Murray's WordDreams…

  6. Pingback: Today's Author | Book Review: The Breakout Novelist

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

