bloggers resources / blogs / marketing / writers resources

I Want to Build a Village

I’ve decided to participate in a blogging community. I haven’t ever done this before, but I’m eager to meet a group of like-minded people who love writing and supporting each other’s writing. It’s through Rach Writes. If you are a social blogger, you might want to check her blog for the next iteration (this one closes August 31st).

It’s impossible to be a writer these days without stepping into the unknown. I’ll tell you how it goes.

_______________________________________________________________________________

Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-fifth grade and creator of two technology training books for middle school. She is the author of Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman. She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, IMS tech expert, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything and Technology in Education. Currently, she’s working on a techno-thriller that should be ready this summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

Follow me

14 thoughts on “I Want to Build a Village

  1. Hehe! That’s great, Jacqui. I did something similar a couple of months ago, & I found that it really kept me accountable with respect to writing something regularly. Not that you need that aspect of it – you’re a machine when it comes to writing!!

  2. Did it build up your network of bloggers? Or get more people to interact with? I found it on Nicola’s blog–I think you visit her, too. Sounds like it’s worth a try, although it’s awfully busy!

    • I’ll definitely tell you. I’m a tad worried about the time commitment also. I made the commitment for this two months, but who knows beyond. I’m guessing it goes well because each time she offers this program, more people sign up. How’s that for a decision making matrix!

      • Sounds like the perfect reason to sign up! If I didn’t have major (positive) personal changes coming up in the next few months, I would have joined you guys. Maybe next time…

      • Oh just family stuff, Jacqui! And in fact I haven’t announced it on my blog, but I’m expecting. It didn’t seem like the right time to take on any additional projects!

      • Congrats, Laura! There is nothing so exciting as a pregnancy. You’ve just taken on the biggest ‘additional project’ of them all. I’ll be thinking about you.

  3. Yay Jacqui!! Welcome to a whole new world of social media. Our mutual Cafe Girl friend also posted on my blog yesterday and referenced your blog as a great resource for writers and I couldn’t agree more. If you want to write a guest post at Uni-Verse-City about writing (as part of the campaign) just let me know.

  4. Hey Nicole! I found this through you–reading your blog, clicking on your sidebar info (I love the stuff people put in there). That’s a great idea. Can I do that for you? In, say, a month?

  5. Hi Jacqui, I linked over here from the Campaign list (though your icon in the Adult-All Genres group linked only to your jpeg; I figured out how to get here, but you may want to see if you can fix the link. Even with the lists closed, if you contact Rachael…)

    I joined the Campaign on the first day, and like you, I’ve not done this before. It’s wonderful! Time-consuming, yes, but WONDERFUL.

    Nice to meet you. I’ll look forward to reading more.

    BTW, my mom’s maiden name was Murray.

    • Hi Katie–thanks for searching me out. I put myself in Adult fiction by accident. Should have been thrillers. I must have been asleep when I signed on. That might be why the link doesn’t work, but I’m going to check anyway. I’m going to hop on over to your blog and check out your writing. Thanks for stopping by!

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

