book reviews

Book Review: Capitol Murder

Capitol Murder: A Novel of SuspenseCapitol Murder: A Novel of Suspense

by Phillip Margolin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Capitol Murder (Harper Collins 2012) is another winner for Phillip Margolin, a self-described self-taught writer and author of fifteen New York Times best selling novels and 4 books of short stories. This book reprises the appearance of serial killer Clarence Little, the violent murderer attorney Brad Miller successfully defended thus earning the long-term affection of this nefarious character. When Little escapes from prison, he is linked to a streak of murders, themselves linked to a group of terrorists intent on destroying America from within. Margolin does a masterful job of weaving these disparate pieces together in nonstop action, spine-tingling suspense and a surprise ending that no one could expect.

As usual, Margolin’s plot is well-constructed with lots of insider tidbits about Washington politics, with strong plotting and believable characters that pull the reader from one page to the next. There were many times in the story I asked, ‘Why would he/she do that?’ only to have Margolin tie up all those breadcrumbs into a a neat package at the end. My only complaint was Milly, Little’s attorney. It took a leap of faith to believe that the guards wouldn’t have noticed her growing affection for her client and/or her secretive slipping of notes from him in his court documents. If Little weren’t such a celebrity criminal, maybe, but he was a particularly evil murderer on a path to being released due to technicalities. But, with all good plots, I willingly suspended my disbelief and rolled with the plot.

Overall, an interesting read worthy of Margolin’s pen.

View all my reviews


Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-sixth grade and creator of two technology training books for middle school. She is the author of Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman.  She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.comEditorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing TeachersIMS tech expert, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything. Currently, she’s editing a thriller for her agent that should be out to publishers this summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

Follow me

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Capitol Murder

  1. Saludos, Jacqui!

    How have you been? I’m certain busy as usual! I enjoyed your book review. How do you go about selecting books for review? Would you like to read my novel, IF YOU LOVE ME, COME?

    Peace and Blessings,

    Claudia

    • Hi Claudia. I review a lot of books, but lately I’ve had to limit it to my Amazon Vine responsibilities. I’m editing a thriller for my agent and am just too short of time. Thanks for thinking of me. I will be buried for at least a few more months. Good luck with your book!

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Locked In | WordDreams...

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

