editing / writers resources / writers tips / writing

Writer’s Tip #28: Join a Writer’s Community

When you read your story, does it sound off, maybe you can’t quite put your finger on it, but you know you’ve done something wrong? Sometimes–maybe even lots of times–there are simple fixes. These writer’s tips will come at you once a week, giving you plenty of time to go through your story and make the adjustments.

Today’s tip: Join a writer’s community.

In this internet age, it’s not as hard as it used to be to find a writer’s critique group. Try:

  • a bookstore
  • the local library
  • Goodreads under that category
  • the local community college
  • Online

I found mine through the local bookstore.

Here’s what’s important: Find one with writers whose work you like and who are supportive of each other. Lurk and learn by reading their comments and critiques until you are ready to write. Many agents want to know your work has been edited before they look at it. A writer’s group will get you started without spending the hundreds it will cost to have a mss professionally edited. They’ll get you close before the pros take over.

–Click to have Writer’s Tips delivered to your email box


Jacqui Murray is the author of Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, Cisco guest blog, Technology in Education featured blogger, IMS tech expert, and a bi-weekly contributor to Write Anything. In her free time, she is  editor of a K-6 technology curriculum, K-8 keyboard curriculum, creator of two technology training books for middle school and six ebooks on technology in education. Currently, she’s editing a thriller that should be out to publishers next summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

Follow me.

10 thoughts on “Writer’s Tip #28: Join a Writer’s Community

  1. Jacque, you’re so right about the importance of a good writing group. I used to belong to an excellent group, but then I moved out of the area. I’d love to find another one, but there isn’t one here. Yet. Maybe I’ll start my own. I do know that I don’t write nearly as much without the encouragement and enery of a group. Thanks.

    • Hehe… They were (are) wonderful, t’is true. I think you could start a group out there. You and Phil–that’s the seed.

      Love your last post. It made me sad but happy for Charlene

  2. I used to belong to a lovely writer’s group and then I moved 12 years ago and haven’t been able to find a good one since. Luckily I’m moving back to the same area again and now I’m really looking forward to getting back into the groove with them! ;)

    • I’m so happy for you. My current group–I’ve been with them for almost ten years–and I still feel like the New Girl. There are times when we beg for submittals because no one is writing and other times when we’re buried.

      So fun.

  3. You know Jacqui, I discovered your blog by sheer luck and will I ever look back! Never. And in such a short time I’ve received a couple of best-ever writing advices from you that have/will have changed my writing habits. So, thank you. Additionally, what a fantastic review/critique I had [not the quality of my story but the quality of the editing] from another great novelist I met on your blog last week [see my comments on your last posting].I never had such a detailed critique even from my University professor [he’s really busy with his own writing]. This story is now really looking much better and proud of it – thanks to Anna.

    I will have the second part of the follow-up story ready in a week’s time. Would any of you be able to critique/edit the story for further refinement for me please? No offence for asking and no offence for saying no. Arun

  4. I joined quite a few groups over the years, but then people moved on or lost interest. I’m thinking of joining one in my neighborhood again… They are a terrific resource.

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

