tech tips for writers / writing

Tech Tips for Writers #85: Browser Problem? Switch Browsers

Tech Tips for Writers is an (almost) weekly post on overcoming Tech Dread. I’ll cover issues that friends, both real-time and virtual, have shared. Feel free to post a comment about a question you have. I’ll cover it in a future Tip.

Q: My browser has been working fine, but lately, it doesn’t bring up some of the stuff on my start page? What do I do?

A: The quick answer is, switch browsers. Sometimes you load programs/system or operating files on your computer that conflict with your current browser. Everything that had been working fine suddenly doesn’t. That just happened to me. I have used FireFox for years with iGoogle as my start page with all my favorite widgets loaded so I got a quick overview of my world every time I went on the internet. One day, Firefox refused to load half of my RSS feeds. I waited a week, another week, and nothing changed. I tried my start page on Internet Explorer with the same result. I did a really adventurous move and downloaded a browser I’ve never before used called Google Chrome, tried my start page in that and all has been fine ever since.

I have no idea what Mozilla and IE did to change things, or what in the internet universe changed. All I know is my start page didn’t work and now it does because I switched to Google Chrome.


Jacqui Murray is the author of Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.comEditorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing TeachersCisco guest blog,Technology in Education featured blogger, IMS tech expert, and a bi-weekly contributor to Write Anything. In her free time, she is  editor of a K-6 technology curriculumK-8 keyboard curriculum, creator of two technology training books for middle school and six ebooks on technology in education. Currently, she’s editing a thriller that should be out to publishers next summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

Follow me.

5 thoughts on “Tech Tips for Writers #85: Browser Problem? Switch Browsers

  1. Jacqui, when using Chrome (either PC or Mac version), be sure to occasionally go to the Customize and control Google Chrome section in the upper right (three little horizontal lines). Click on Tools > Clear browsing data. I would recommend checking the following options (and from the little “Obliterate” pull-down select from [the beginning of time]:

    • Clear browsing history
    • Clear download history
    • Empty the cache

    Do that at least once a week (I do it daily and it takes just seconds) and Chrome should work fine for you. BTW, I’ve been using Chrome since Beta 1.x,… many years now. Hope that this helps.

      • My pleasure, Jacqui, glad to be of help. I had switched primary browsers some years ago, more out of initial curiosity than anything, so I have a slight advantage. But there’s a lot that you can access via that little 3-line indicator. Mine is set up so that it’s completely synced so that my browser tabs carry over between the PC and the Mac, or when I go onto a public computer anywhere in the world. It’s another good feature worth exploring.

  2. I have an unusual problem for you. I’m fairly certain it isn’t a browser issue, I believe it is due to my shooting my connection through a satellite, but I really don’t know. Anyway – there are (fortunately) a few WordPress blogs I can’t get to load. The odd thing is, sometimes they do, but not often.

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

