awards / blogs / writing

I’ve Been Tagged–Er, Honored

Next BigThe Next Big Thing is the latest blog hop/interview award making the rounds across the world. I was tagged by Anna over at Anna’s Obsession.  She has a fascinating life up in Alaska and is willing to answer reader questions about what it means to work and play in our coldest state.

My obligation is to:

  • re-tag the person who tagged me (done)
  • answer the questions asked (see below)
  • tag four other fantastic authors (that was easy)

Here are the questions. Skip the ones that don’t interest you:

What is the working title of your book?

24 Days. That’s the third working title and probably not the last once the publisher gets involved

Where did the idea come from for the book?

My daughter served on the USS Bunker Hill and I gained a true appreciation for the power and support provided by America’s cruisers.

What genre does your book fall under?

Thriller, almost military thriller, maybe even techno-thriller. I’ll let someone else pick the exact category

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Someone unknown. Let them make their big breakthrough with my first novel-to-movie

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Can a Former SEAL, a Brilliant Scientist, a Love-besotted Nerd and a Quirky AI Stop Terrorists in Twenty-four days?

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m still up in the air over that. I have a lot of self-published books which do fine so don’t quite understand the need for an agent. On the other hand, am I really a writer if I don’t have an agent and/or publisher?

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

A couple of years, mostly due to research. That’s the fun part. Wordsmithing is as annoying as it is motivating.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Military thrillers because my main character is the cruiser, USS Bunker Hill, as much as any human

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

See above.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Besides a cruiser at war, I solve my mysteries with science and brains. Brawn–yes, but the true creativity comes from the cerebral efforts.

Here’s my list of wonderful bloggers who keep me going every day, inspire me, and force me to think about my craft. Kuddos to all of you!

  1. Diana Gray, author–Diana runs a lovely blog with her take on all sorts of life events, including her efforts to write. One of her recent posts was how she likes to work on two WIP at a time and included a picture of a quirky genius who could write with both hands, both feet and his mouth at once. That alone is worth dropping by her blog.
  2. Laura Stanfill–Laura describes herself as “coffee-drinking novelist, reader and knitter, and I’m the founder of Forest Avenue Press”. She lives in Oregon, which makes me want to move there so I can join her writer’s group (true confession: I can’t wait to get out of California).
  3. John Williamson–one of the most prolific writers I know–and he’s a photographer. The link takes you to his Amazon Vine reviews, where he is ranked 34 out of thousands and thousands of reviewers. His reviews are always thoughtful, detailed, and helpful. I’ve never met him, but feel like we’re friends.
  4. Mirth and Motivation–if you are EVER down, drop by Elizabeth’s blog and she’ll cheer you up with both words and images. I don’t know how one person can be so positive, but I’d love to live next door to her. For now, I’ll have to settle for a ‘virtual’ next door.

There they are. I like this award too because the bloggers can opt in or not. No stress. when was the last time you faced life straight on and could say, ‘No stress’?

BTW, my tag came with no award logo so I did a search and came up with a slew of images. In this world of Pinterest, we must have an image on a post or we are invisible, so I picked one I liked. Anyone know what the Real Logo is?

15 thoughts on “I’ve Been Tagged–Er, Honored

  1. Congratulations on winning this interesting game of tag. Your answers suggest definitive feelings and some that are conditional, a state I consider open to intelligent conversation. I like the chalkboard logo – it has touches of humor and modesty but the colors demand attention.

    • I actually liked that one the best, too, but wondered if it conveyed an ‘award’ feel well enough. Maybe it doesn’t.

      I find it hard to go into a lot of detail. I’m a minimalist in my posts and everything else so I followed that approach with the answers.

      Thanks for commenting, Shari. I won’t make our next meeting–darn. But I’ll see you in January.

  2. Congratulations, Jacqui! I absolutely love the information about 24 Days – it sounds fast paced and intriguing! ;)

    Thank you for the nomination! I’ll be checking out your other nominees now :D

  3. WHAT? I can’t believe she did that! You should contest it. Demand that the school board give you a reason and then appeal it. What a miserable person. I am so sorry – and right before the holidays. I hope she gets coal in her stocking. (Seriously – I’m sitting here frowning over this news.)

    • I’m only telling you and Anna, here on my blog. By the end of the weekend, I’ll be cheered up and considering the positive sides of these changes.

      I just know there’s a positive side. 13 years doing something, well I thought, and I’m tossed out like trash. How do they call themselves Christians?

      • Wow – well, they do say the closing of one door happens so another door can open. However, I know the feeling. I might be in the same situation. The lodge where I work during the summer is changing hands, but I don’t know if it will be in business next summer. Circumstances have put that in question. At the moment I’m in limbo – the sad part about this is I’m getting all this information through rumor. My bosses haven’t answered any of my emails or messages. I understand that they don’t like to discuss their business with employees, but they could at least reply or call or something. I’m actually worried about them. This isolation isn’t really like them.

      • Thanks for your comments, Anna. I have no illusions at my age I’ll get another job in tech ed, so I’m considering my options. Writing is the best alternative. If I applied myself to that… Hmm… I wonder…

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

