Amazon / geeks / words / writing

Ten Favorite Geek Words–Part I

I write techno-thrillers, so I’m always reading about computers, technology, the Latest Stuff. Here are some of my

Geeks come in all sizes

Geeks come in all sizes

favorite Geek Speak words (Computer nerds are so neologistic):

  1. alpha geek–the most technologically savvy dude in the company
  2. amazonned–amazonized, means you’ve lost a chunk of your business to a dot-com.
  3. back hack–when you get hacked, you return the favor
  4. beta baby–child born to a high-tech pro after 1995
  5. code 18–Used by tech support to disguise when they’re calling a technical issue user-caused. They’re so PC
  6. cyberterrorism–terror on a computer
  7. digital jewelry–any hi-tech stuff you wear around your neck–ipods, phones, etc.
  8. edress–an electronic address (IP, IM, email, etc.)
  9. idea hampster–Someone who always has his/her idea generator running
  10. inner geek–the techie deep within each of us

Want more? I’ll be posting Part II, or try NetLingo. You’ll find a clever term for everything techie, to satisfy your inner geek (see above).

More?


Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing TeachersCisco guest blogger, Technology in Education featured blogger, and IMS tech expert. She is  the editor of a K-6 technology curriculumK-8 keyboard curriculumK-6 Digital Citizenship curriculum, creator of technology training books for middle school and ebooks on technology in education. Currently, she’s editing a thriller that should be out to publishers next summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

Follow me.

 

5 thoughts on “Ten Favorite Geek Words–Part I

  1. I wear ‘digital jewelry’ every day–my flash drive. I was astounded to learn that’s a ‘geek’ trait–we wear the flash drive everywhere. Of course I do. It holds all of my writing. If my house burns down and my computer blows up, I’m still OK.

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Oxford Essential Dictionary of Difficult Words | WordDreams...

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

