authors / blogs / writing

14 Writing Tips from Blogging

writerIf you aren’t a blogger, you don’t realize how top-notch you must be to succeed in that field. You need a strong voice, a friendly style, and a command of all 7,486 writing rules itemized in tomes like Strunk and White’s Elements of Style. But in blogging, you only get a couple hundred words to capture an audience. Compare that to the thousands you get in a short story and the tens of thousands in a novel.

I was a novelist before a blogger and I understood that styles differ, so when I started blogging, I stumbled on TimeThief’s One Cool Site. That became what Oprah would call a ‘life defining moment’. In a day when common sense isn’t always so common, she had it. I learned about the importance of headings, good content, brevity, and proper grammar. As the months passed, the surprising by-product of becoming a better blogger was I became a better writer. I found myself incorporating her hints into everything I wrote. I even taught them to my 3rd-5th graders. Of course I did–they were cogent, pithy, and effective.

She recently posted ten tips about writing. Now, her audience is bloggers, but as I read them, I found they summarized the essential elements that go into novel writing. See if you agree.

You back? What do you think? Has blogging made you a better writer? If you’re struggling with writing, have I convinced you to try blogging?



Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing TeachersCisco guest blog, IMS tech expert, and a bi-monthly contributor to Today’s Author. In her free time, she is the editor of a K-8 technology curriculumK-8 keyboard curriculumK-8 Digital Citizenship curriculum, and creator of technology training books for how to integrate technology in education. Currently, she’s editing a thriller that should be out to publishers next summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

Follow me.

13 thoughts on “14 Writing Tips from Blogging

  1. Cannot say if blogging has made me a better writer; but is has certainly made me a writer (or somewhat at least). It has given me confidence and helped me appreciate that there is no single good way of writing. Your post validates my beliefs. Thank you.

  2. Jacqui, forget about all my previous posts to your past Writing Commandments – THIS IS THE ONE -that surpasses them all. This will force a novice to become a writer, thanks forever to [to me] the most effective writing blogger in the planet earth. Love. Arun

    • Thanks for stopping by, Trent. I had to laugh at your guest post on Nobody’s reading me–87 comments! Sure… Nobody’s reading…

      Anyway–yes. I always learn from Timethief. She’s so down-to-earth.

      • No problems. Do you follow Nobodysreading me? He’s a pretty funny guy, for a Brit (I’m joking here, I’m British myself). Anyway, hope to see you around, I will check in on your blog.

  3. Great post! So much to take away from this. Six Tips on Writing from John Steinbeck was spot on. Initially blogging was a forum for me to post a few pieces of flash fiction. Then as I started my novel I started using it more as a forum for information sharing. I try to keep my posts below 700 words and the brevity from blogging has definitely spilled over into my writing.

    • I like 500-700 word posts, too. Probably because that’s what I read. I can get through that in five minutes, a break from whatever I’m doing. Anything else is a commitment–becomes ‘what I’m doing’. And I have too much of that!

  4. This is wonderful! I also clicked to see Time Thief and now have another useful blog to follow. Unfortunately still finding the technical aspects difficult, but I love finding the incentive to write and the tools to improve.

  5. Fantastic tips here, Jacqui. I don’t know if blogging has improved my writing, but I have learned a lot about the way other’s write (and of course, all your great tips!) :D

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

