humor / writers / writing

Labor Day Thoughts: Do You Really Want to Try to Earn a Living as a Writer?

Take today to think about it. Then watch this:

..and then consider the hilarious Debbie Ohi’s take on ‘taking a break’:

labor day“Comic used with permission from Debbie Ridpath Ohi at Inkygirl.com.”



Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing TeachersCisco guest blog, IMS tech expert, and a monthly contributor to Today’s Author. In her free time, she is the editor of a K-8 technology curriculumK-8 keyboard curriculumK-8 Digital Citizenship curriculum, and creator of technology training books for how to integrate technology in education. Currently, she’s editing a thriller that should be out to publishers next summer.

Follow me.

10 thoughts on “Labor Day Thoughts: Do You Really Want to Try to Earn a Living as a Writer?

  1. Lol I loved this vlog. :-D

    As for whether or not I want to earn a living, it’s sort of complicated. See, it’s not about earning a living. I already earn a nice living not writing. So that means I can write because I love it.

    That said, I’ve committed myself to try an make a vast sum of money in a year within the next five years. Not to make a living, but to focus on getting more work out there. But point is, if I make that much money, I’ll be making ten times the amount I’m making now, so…

  2. Pingback: A Writer’s (Holi)day | WordDreams...

  3. Pingback: 14 Things Writers Do Before 8am | WordDreams...

  4. Pingback: Today's Author | 8 Things Writers Can Do No One Else Can

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

