decision making / problem-solving

#IWSG–The World is Changing–Can I keep up

writers groupThis post is for Alex Cavanaugh’s Insecure Writers Support Group (click the link for details on what that means and how to join. You will also find a list of bloggers signed up to the challenge that are worth checking out like Kate and Rebecca who inspired me to begin). The first Wednesday of every month, we all post our thoughts, fears or words of encouragement for fellow writers.

This month’s insecurity: I don’t know if I can keep up with the changes going on around me.

By this time in my life, I had hoped to be thinking of retiring from a life-long job I enjoyed and found satisfaction from  (vested in their retirement plan). I’d have a close group of friends who understood me, allowed me to be me no matter what the question. We’d bounce ideas around, each respecting the thoughts and conclusions of the others if not agreeing with them. I’d be wondering what to do with my retirement years.

None of that happened. I’m nowhere near settled enough to retire–and if I did, I have no corporate retirement plan. I’ve spent so much time working 2-3 jobs, I never found time to cultivate a nurturing group of friends who keep my head straight (thank God for my husband). The world is radically moving from the self-reliant, help-thy-neighbor community I have always respected and relished. There seems to be too much ‘let the government take care of things, not me’. My natural bias for action is losing to a need to rest a little bit rather than take on another Big Job. My children are grown and happy in their lives–doing a good job being adults. I love them dearly, but they have a bigger world now than mom and dad and the dog. The state of the economy has pretty much put the last nail in my retirement coffin–stock market collapse, housing market collapse, Social Security going bankrupt, Medicare in tatters (depending upon who you listen to), Obama’s Affordable Care Act anything but (well, that’s the rumor. Time will tell…).

What I do have is my brain. My momma promised that was the one thing no one could take from me–my knowledge–and again she appears to be right. It’s still chugging along, rolling through these problems, searching for solutions. This is a process I can’t stop–never have been able to my entire life. I’m a problem solver whether I like it or not. When friends ask a casual question, “How can I do…”, I always come up with an answer. I’ll let you know what I work out this time.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing TeachersCisco guest blog, IMS tech expert, and a monthly contributor to Today’s Author. In her free time, she is the editor of a K-8 technology curriculumK-8 keyboard curriculumK-8 Digital Citizenship curriculum, and creator of technology training books for how to integrate technology in education. Currently, she’s editing a thriller that should be out to publishers next summer.

24 thoughts on “#IWSG–The World is Changing–Can I keep up

  1. This could be my story. At least some of us, like me, have only ourselves to blame; assuming someone else, like a greedy corporation or a corrupt government is going to look after you. Anyway, better late than never…

  2. Aren’t you a bundle of energy. I applaud you. Retirement is a huge life change. It took a couple of years to settle in to my new life but now I’m happy. I don’t need much: my books, my cat, my laptop, my notebook and pen and my family. Somehow they made it to the bottom of the totem pole. ;-) I need very little to live. Hope you will be able to enjoy a retired lifestyle soon.

    • I have always looked forward to retirement–reading all day, window-shopping, long walks with the dog. It’s still in my future. You and I would be perfect together–books, laptop, writing devices. Does your cat like dogs?

      • I like the sounds of this. My first couple years were relaxed and everyday was Saturday but now I have so much I want to do, there aren’t enough hours in a day.

        My cat and the dog upstairs are getting to know each other. I caught them sneaking an Eskimo kiss. Boy, was my face RED. :-D

  3. I’m co-hosting IWSG this month. Although I’m not at your stage of life yet, I often ponder the same things. I’m now a reservist in the military. My husband and I move quite a bit, so it’s hard to build and maintain friendships. I’m also doing the stay-at-home mom thing while writing, which means I’m not saving as much for retirement. The thought of what my life will look like at retirement scares the heebie jeebies out of me. My dream of an early retirement with my husband now seems laughable.

    For now, I’m just trying to make the most of out of every single day and live the best life possible. I’ll keep retirement in the back of my mind and continue to plan for it, but I have to stop stressing out over it.

    Nice to meet you.

    • Thanks for visit, Isis. If you have kids at home, I’m sure there’s no time to thing about what comes next. You’re lucky to know what’s coming the next day! Those were fun days, but I wouldn’t return. They take a lot of energy!

  4. I know this sounds easy to say, but hang in there, and keep going. Having a bright, active brain and the resources to keep working are huge, valuable gifts. I hope things ease for you, soon!

  5. Hi, nice to meet you. I’m co-hosting IWSG this month.
    I’m not near retirement yet, but I hear you loud and clear. The world is changing and how we handle retirement is so different than just a generation ago. You sound like a very intelligent person, though. I feel like you can navigate this new adventure just fine. It may not be your original plan, but I have confidence that you’ll succeed. I wish you all the best.

  6. Thanks for your wisdom and the truth. Life doesn’t necessarily get easier and less complicated the older we get. I keep painting a rosy picture for myself that when my kids grow up and move out everything in will somehow be easier. Life will always have challenges and your momma gave you the best advice, keep growing in knowledge. The government can zap our funds, our environment, our community resources, but so far they can’t take our brains.

  7. Don´t let the world get the best of you. We all struggle sometimes so know you are not alone in this. Make a best of your live as I can see from you words you are pretty good at it. Keep going and good luck.

    • Thanks, Jamie. I do keep moving forward–don’t know how to do anything else. It completely annoys my children when they whine about a problem and I come up with solutions. I can’t help it.

  8. Pingback: #IWSG–Why do people ‘Shoot the messenger’? | WordDreams...

  9. Pingback: #IWSG–My Writing Style Doesn’t Work | WordDreams...

  10. Pingback: #IWSG–Am I Brave Enough? | WordDreams...

  11. Pingback: #IWSG–I’m not balanced–Is that a big problem? | WordDreams...

  12. Pingback: #IWSG–How Stupid am I When My Body Gives in to Pain? | WordDreams...

  13. Pingback: #IWSG–My Plot Has Been Co-opted | WordDreams...

  14. Pingback: #IWSG–Am I a Storyteller? | WordDreams...

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

