book reviews

Book Review: Google Apps Meets Common Core

Google Apps Meets Common CoreGoogle Apps Meets Common Core

by Michael J. Graham

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

View all my reviews

Written as part of my Vine Voice reviews

Michael Graham’s Google Apps Meets Common Core (Corwin 2013) is exactly what I hoped it would be. As a teacher, there couldn’t be two bigger topics than ‘Google Apps for Education’ and ‘Common Core’. Juxtaposing the two instantly caught my attention. My only question was whether Graham would be up to the task.

He is.

Graham does a great job of going through all the parts of Google Apps, showing steps with lots of pictures, so I can almost walk through them in the book without trundling over to my computer. He starts with a pithy summary of Common Core and then goes through each tool–Docs, Spreadsheet, Presentations, and more.. He also provides quick, educational uses of each piece–sometimes a full lesson plan. Then there are the nuggets that make it worth reading even if nothing else catches your attention. Like learning how to embed Google Docs into a website, blog, wiki (page 34). I used that the first day I got the book.

Graham has a good writing voice. It’s clear, able to simplify what could be technical geekie points that I want and need to know as a teacher. By the time I finished the book, I felt a lot better about aligning to Common Core and using Google Apps.The only part I was a bit disappointed in was the ‘companion website’–not at all up to what the book delivered. Hopefully, he’ll work on that over the coming months.



Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing TeachersCisco guest blog, IMS tech expert, and a monthly contributor to Today’s Author. In her free time, she is the editor of a K-8 technology curriculumK-8 keyboard curriculumK-8 Digital Citizenship curriculum, and creator of technology training books for how to integrate technology in education. Currently, she’s editing a thriller that should be out to publishers next summer.

Follow me.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Google Apps Meets Common Core

    • It’s not as intuitive as I wish it were, but kids get it fine. Adults–not so much. I keep stumbling on things it can do that nothing else can–like transfer a big file. Up to 20mb! My email only allows 10mb.

      • Ohhhh. All I need is to find more time in my day so I can learn about the new techie stuff I haven’t had time to pay attention to. Maybe all this learning will keep my brain young. Wink. Wink.

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

