Uncategorized

Guest Blogger Day – Russell Blake on How To Be a Prolific Writer

Jacqui Murray:

Russell Blake–recently featured on page one of Wall Street Journal for his world-class writing prolifics. I know from experience that the more books you have out there, the more you sell (what a concept). Rulless takes this to the extreme.
Good post!

Originally posted on All That's Written ...:

I am proud to be the one who has Russell Blake explaining how anyone can become a prolific author. Maybe not as good as he is. His Jet Series for example is outstanding, but at least you won’t have to suffer from a perceived writer’s block.

***

I was asked to write a blog about how to be prolific. I suppose I’m guilty of putting out a lot of product, so if not an authority on the topic, I can at least speak to it.

First, you need an idea that moves you. Let’s say it’s “Ninja beavers battle land developers.” I’ll sit down and write out a one or two paragraph outline that describes the story – the beginning (set-up, character intro, initiating event), the middle (trials and tribulations, crisis, redemption), and end (resolution). That gives me a roadmap to follow, and enables me to easily see whether I’ve…

View original 881 more words

13 thoughts on “Guest Blogger Day – Russell Blake on How To Be a Prolific Writer

  1. Thanks for posting this! I saw his article in WSJ, picked up one of his ebooks and am impressed by the quality of his writing. Very helpful insights… now, where am I’m going to find that peace, solitude and lack of distractions to make it happen? As women writers, it’s often a challenge, but I’m finally giving in to the concept of up ‘before the cock crows’ as the only viable option.

  2. Audrey: By rewrite, I mean go over what I’ve written and polish it. Usually that means adjusting sentence structure, looking for echoes, cutting fat, etc. My experience is that novels are made great in rewrite. I know some advocate writing and sending to the editor, but my sense is that advice is for short stories. On novels, I don’t know anyone who doesn’t go back and polish – either chapter by chapter as they write, or on multiple drafts. I favor multiple drafts.

    DC: Thanks. I think something that gets lost with articles that focus on sheer volume is that I try to up the bar on quality every time I sit down to write. That’s what keeps it challenging. I don’t advocate releasing crap. My approach happens to be all-or-nothing, but that doesn’t mean it’s for everyone. And I certainly don’t want it taken to mean that volume is more important than quality. There’s a balance, and it’s every author’s job to find an equilibrium that works for them.

    Everyone: Thanks for the warm thoughts. Glad you enjoyed the blog.

    • Thanks for dropping by, Russell. ‘Looking for echoes’–great way to say that. Never heard it phrased that way before.

      I will be reading the first of your many on a plane trip back East. I can’t wait.

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

