writers tips / writing

Writers Tip #63: Take Your Time

When you read your story, does it sound off, maybe you can’t quite put your finger on it, but you know you’ve done something wrong? Sometimes–maybe even lots of times–there are simple fixes. These writer’s tips will come at you once a week, giving you plenty of time to go through your story and make the adjustments.

Today’s tip:  Take Your Time

“The beautiful part of writing is that you don’t have to get it right the first time unlike, say, brain surgery.”

Good advise from Robert Cormier. Getting it right the first time is as common as the fact that the average American has one testicle and one ovary. There’s no American THAT average and there are no writers who hit a home run the first time.

Well, there is Craig Osso (pen name: Russell Blake). I read about him on the front page of the Wall Street Journal. He wrote 25 books in 30 months–all self-published. I bet he gets it right the first time pretty often.

But I digress..

For most people, writing always takes longer than expected. It took mankind 358 years to solve Fermat’s Last Theorem. And the man who finally accomplished the undo-able–Andrew Wiles–took eight years of his life to do it.

Keep fighting the good fight. You’ll make it. I’ll keep the light on for you.

More writing tips:

Top 10 Tips for Writers in 2013

Writers Tip #61: Advice From Elmore Leonard

11 Tips on Writing Thrillers

Click to have Writer’s Tips delivered to your email box

Questions you want answered? Leave a comment and I’ll answer it within the next thirty days.



Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. In her free time, she is  editor of technology training books for how to integrate technology in education. Currently, she’s editing a techno-thriller that should be out to publishers next summer.

Follow me.

14 thoughts on “Writers Tip #63: Take Your Time

    • I’ve come to realize the fun of writing is process, not product. I got that the first time I finished a book–and started the next within a week because, well, I had to be writing something.

  1. After I finished writing my first novel I was so excited to explore some of the background characters that I just kept writing through what I think will be a five book series. The fun is that book two was so long ago that I feel like I’m reading something new that I haven’t written. It makes editing it a lot of fun.

  2. Writing is odd like that. Sometimes I can write 5000 words without a hitch, and then it might take me 3 hours to get one paragraph exactly right (or if it’s the last line of a novel it can take up to three weeks!) ;)

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

