culture

What are You Doing for Valentine’s Day?

red-37308_150Friday’s are busy. I barely get a lunch break–the 5 free minutes between classes I must use for the restroom. Eat or pee? Hmmm…. Not really a choice.

So by the time I get home this Valentine’s, I’ll be exhausted, not interested in fighting the holiday lovers for a place at the Restaurant Table. My husband of 30 years and I will eat in, chat, catch up, and likely go to bed early (although the Olympics might keep us awake).

But, I realize most of you would like a bit more so I have a few ideas.

What are my writer friends doing for Valentine Day? Maybe I’ll change my plans.





Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. In her free time, she is  editor of technology training books for how to integrate technology in education. Currently, she’s editing a techno-thriller that should be out to publishers next summer.

Follow me.

13 thoughts on “What are You Doing for Valentine’s Day?

    • Every year, I try harder. I’m not particularly good at staying in touch or being helpful but I’ve found if I pretend and try to do what’s expected, I can do what Val McDermott’s Tony Hill calls ‘passing for human’.

  1. Jacqui I think its a crock of commercial blah-de-blah or maybe it is for young love….instead I say I love you to my hubby everyday and we try not to take each other for granted.He will buy me flowers on random days, for no reason. We have our lunch dates during the week, maybe once a month when the kids are at school. Valentines was almost special as my daughter was born a minute before so we prefer to celebrate the day before with the greatest love ever, our daughter.

  2. I’m sanding and varnishing my bar today, Jacqui ;) Very romantic indeed. But Hubby and I will be watching that big moon in the sky tonight (yay – the clouds have decided to move away for a while) and enjoying a glass of wine and a chat (hang on, we do that every night!) :D

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

