book reviews

Book Review: Hounded

HoundedHounded

by David Rosenfelt

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

View all my reviews

Reviewed for Amazon Vine

I’ve never read David Rosenfelt before, but that’s part of the deal as a Vine reviewer–you try new authors. Hounded (Minotaur Books 2014) had a big, cuddly hound on the cover so there was no way to pass it up. I’m a dog lover to the extreme. I often add dog pictures to my blog posts just because they’re cute. Plus, the book blurb promised a sense of humor. My mind went wild imagining a funny hound solving mysteries or getting in the way of the crimestoppers so I grabbed it from the list.

The book is nothing like that. Yes, humor is woven throughout, but the hound’s only input is to be adopted by the main character, go for walks with him, and sleep. Still, I found the book fun, well-scripted, nicely-paced, and I will be reading Rosenfelt’s other books. Looking at his list in the front piece of Hounded, it’s clear he too is a dog lover–lots of books with dog-themed titles which I’m now suspicious of.

Hounded is the next in Rosenfelt’s Andy Carpenter series about a defense attorney who made so much money (I don’t know how), he only takes cases that appeal to him. This case, he’s tricked into taking –after he first agrees to watch the son and hound dog of a dead man.

It gets weirder from there.

Rosenfelt is a good storyteller, the novel well-paced, with just the right balance of action and drama and an acerbic wit that I enjoy in fiction. The hero of the series, Andy Carpenter, is interesting. By his own admission, he’s lazy, wealthy, with a humble self-deprecation that filters throughout the story–

“I’m not a big fan of depth in relationships. I like to keep my friends in the shallow end of the pool.”

He’s not your usual hero defense attorney. I love that he’s afraid of everything (“As someone who was scared of the cookie monster until I was seventeen, it’s intimidating to me.“) with an interesting philosophy of life–one that many of us can relate to (“I don’t know enough to know what is important and what isn’t, so I treat everything as if it is crucial. Not to do so would mean that I might gloss over something that is vital to our case“).

My only complaint is that it’s written in present tense. I’m not a fan of that sort of story, but as usual, I got used to it. Absolutely recommended to friends and strangers.

Follow up: Since I read this a few months ago for Vine, I’ve read all but two of the Andy Carpenter series. They are all wonderful!

More book reviews of thrillers with humor:

Book Review: Little Elvises

Book Review: Moon Underfoot

Book Review: The Bubblegum Thief


Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. In her free time, she is  editor of technology training books for how to integrate technology in education. Currently, she’s editing a techno-thriller that should be out to publishers next summer.

Follow me.

15 thoughts on “Book Review: Hounded

    • I found him on my Vine list. I’ve now read almost everything he has written that includes Tara (his star dog). Yes–you should be a dog lover or you’ll just think he’s nuts!

  1. You’re right about the dog on the cover. I’m not a dog person but that look of curiosity makes me wonder what’s between the covers. Your excellent review makes this book tempting, but I’ve decided to s.t.o.p. adding to my meandering list until I’ve caught up on my reading. :-)

  2. I love the excerpt you posted, Jacqui. Have you read any Rebecca Stead? She’s a middle grade writer with a similar (and excellent) articulation of character dynamics.

  3. Great review, Jacqui. I’m hesitant to read stories written in present tense because I find them a little confusing. Hounded sounds like a great story, but I don’t know about the cover. To me it looks like a lighthearted story about a hound and (like you) I would probably pick it up expecting something a little different.

    • It is a serious lawyer procedural written with a sense of humor. Meaning–the main character wise-cracks a lot. It’s his persona, much like Nelson DeMille’s FBI agent John Corey

  4. Pingback: Book Review: The Kill Switch | WordDreams...

  5. Pingback: My Summer with David Rosenfelt « Jacqui Murray

  6. Pingback: My Summer with David Rosenfelt | WordDreams...

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

