editing / education / writing

Scientific Fiction

That’s different from science fiction. In Scientific Fiction, we include the mystical miraculous elements of science in a story with a plot, characters, drama, crises, resolutions–all of the elements of fiction to make it more interesting. Sometimes it seems like science fiction, but that’s only because often, fact is stranger than fiction.

scientific fiction

Photo credit: Nemo

My book includes DNA computers, DNA viruses, simulated reality, the Hubble telescope, paleoanthropology and then some. It wanders wherever my mind feels it must through the natural world. I love science, but often it’s written in such a manner that us Common Man can’t understand it. I guess it takes so much education to get to the complicated concepts, people no longer know how to relate. The best explanation of that was from a friend of mine. He’s a model for the computer geek character in my book, so I was asking him how he thinks. Sounds like an odd question, but I knew from experience going to college with him, he is a bit different. For example, he reads two books at once–really reads them. He says one is too slow for his brain. He doesn’t read word-by-word, so absorbing the concepts goes faster than moving over the lines. I don’t really get it, but then I’m not a genius.

Anyway, he told me he likes tables better than graphs. Now, I teach my kids in school that graphs are a better way to explain things because they show the answer as a picture–easier to see the point of the graph and all that. Well, that’s exactly why Phil doesn’t like them. They draw conclusions for him, and he’d rather discover the patterns himself. What a concept.

If the beautiful ideas of math and science can be told as creative nonfiction with a plot and characters and drama, I think students would read it more and study better. That’s my theory anyway. I’m sure someone out there will tell me it’s been thought of before. Does it work???

So, I’m struggling with a particularly prickly part about submarines and the computers that run them. I’ve been on the same two pages for two days. I think it’s a bit clearer, but everytime I re-read it, I make a ton of changes. I was going to take a break to watch Hannity and Colmes, but they’re busy raking McCain over the coals for something about lobbyists. I don’t need any more negative politics.

bam-cover01.jpgI checked Amazon and I didn’t sell any books today. I’m still at one a day, but in danger of slipping. If you read this, would you go buy my book, Building a Midshipman. That’ll help my quota. Tomorrow, it’s off to Annapolis. My daughter will be finding out what ship she’ll be deployed to in June. I’m hoping San Diego, but really whatever works best for her is fine. I’m just glad she graduated. Now that I’ve read the USNA is the most sexist of the 3 service academies, I’m happy she kept her sanity. She won’t disagree, but she doesn’t whine. When she selected the Naval Academy, she had her choice of there or the Airforce Academy. At that time, USAFA was the most sexist, so that was one more reason to pick USNA. How things change.

See you in a few days!


2 thoughts on “Scientific Fiction

  1. Pingback: #IWSG–When does technical become boring | WordDreams...

  2. Pingback: Writers Tip #69: 5 Tips From Cory Doctorow | WordDreams...

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

