writing

Recognize the Early Warning Signs of a New Book Inside You

I submitted my latest effort to a publisher, sure he’d love it as much as I. After all, I’d been fine-tuning it for four years, editing and re-editing. (To give you some perspective, this was when I was wide-eyed and innocent as an author). His reply: He’d be interested if:

  • I add new characters
  • changed the setting
  • changed the plot

Is that all? Being new to this writing thing, I contemplated his requests. The human mind is amazing. Give it a problem and it works on it, behind the scenes, while you’re eating dinner, socializing with friends. It just grinds away until it comes up with a solution. Personally, I think man has the only brain that does that and that’s one of the features that makes us human and every other animal not.

But I digress. Before I knew it, a new book was taking shape in my mind.

  • I started noticing unique characteristics about people around me, stuff I just had to include in my book
  • As I watched life move around me, I became aware of motivations, themes–plots. How would I attack that Destroyer if I had to? How would I hack a computer that no one else could?
  • What did a college campus look and feel like? What smells were unique to the Navy?

A year later, I was done. I morphed from a paleo-historic adventure to a techno-thriller set in modern times. It turned out to be not a rewrite, but a new book. Surprisingly, it followed the same theme: How does man solve problems?

Here’s my suggestion: Be aware of those Early Warning Signs. Pay attention. Write them down. You have a story to tell.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

One thought on “Recognize the Early Warning Signs of a New Book Inside You

  1. Pingback: 10 Hits and Misses for 2011 « Jacqui Murray's WordDreams…

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

