writers tips / writing

Writer’s Tip #20: Write the Book You Want to Read

writers tipsWhen you read your story, does it sound off, maybe you can’t quite put your finger on it, but you know you’ve done something wrong? Sometimes–maybe even lots of times–there are simple fixes. These writer’s tips will come at you once a week, giving you plenty of time to go through your story and make the adjustments.

Today’s tip: Write the book you can’t put down.

This is the most oft-repeated advice. It works. Don’t write the book you think you should, or the book that the market wants. Write the book you’d devour. Make your characters human. Give them foibles, dreams, plans. Let them grow throughout the story until they’re you’re readers’ friend by the end. Make the plot tricky, unpredictable. Make the settings exciting with the details that make you want to buy a ticket and go visit.

Does this sound difficult? If you take your writing slowly, in pieces, this all comes easily.

To have these tips delivered to your email, click Writer’s Tips here.


Share

5 thoughts on “Writer’s Tip #20: Write the Book You Want to Read

  1. This is a good piece of insight. I think writers often get lost in their language or what they think should be happening that they don’t pay attention to what is happening.
    Hopefully it’s something a writer can catch, but more often than not we see (as readers) where the writer got ‘scared’ of how to get to a point or a climax and started veering off course.

    Like

    • Yes, writers do get lost in what they’re saying at times, which is why I wanted to remind all of us–myself included–if you get lost, go back to your core. There, you’ll find the right words. Thanks for visiting. Come back often. You have some interesting posts of your own on your blog.

      Like

  2. I have never had a book stall out on me and the reason is a point you brought up in your last post: knowing my characters. All of my protagonists (and antagonists for that matter) have a bias for action? They would never have a problem that would throw cause them to throw their hands into the air and say Uncle. So I sit back and think about my character if I’m stuck. What would they do? If I know them, it unsticks me.

    Like

  3. I couldn’t agree with you more. My mom once asked why I’m writing the book I am because it’s not what is popular right now. I told her I want to write books that I love, that I have passion for. If I ever feel like the story is going nowhere and I lost that passion, I start over even if it may be more “marketable”. I’m writing a book I’ve been wanting to read for a long time now, one that can help so many people who are suffering and feel alone. That’s what keeps me going.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Writer's Tip #20: Write the Book You Want to Read « Word Dreams… | All About Books

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

