editing / writers resources / writers tips / writing

Writer’s Tip #28: Join a Writer’s Community

When you read your story, does it sound off, maybe you can’t quite put your finger on it, but you know you’ve done something wrong? Sometimes–maybe even lots of times–there are simple fixes. These writer’s tips will come at you once a week, giving you plenty of time to go through your story and make the adjustments.

Today’s tip: Join a writer’s community.

In this internet age, it’s not as hard as it used to be to find a writer’s critique group. Try:

  • a bookstore
  • the local library
  • Goodreads under that category
  • the local community college
  • Online

I found mine through the local bookstore.

Here’s what’s important: Find one with writers whose work you like and who are supportive of each other. Lurk and learn by reading their comments and critiques until you are ready to write. Many agents want to know your work has been edited before they look at it. A writer’s group will get you started without spending the hundreds it will cost to have a mss professionally edited. They’ll get you close before the pros take over.

–Click to have Writer’s Tips delivered to your email box



Share

8 thoughts on “Writer’s Tip #28: Join a Writer’s Community

  1. You make an excellent point. I was lucky to be part of a very supportive writers group a few years back but we all went our separate ways after a while. We are now spread out across the country so I’m going it alone for now.

    I think you also missed another valid point on your list – writers blogs 🙂 Between you and Cheryl I’m getting back into the whole writing thing again. I’ve been away from it a while, so reading your valuable comments and posts has motivated me to start again.

    Like

    • You’re right, as usual. My writer’s group meets eo week, but I can chat with them–and my online writing group–anytime through the blogs. Funny, but none in my stick-and-bricks world has a blog but me!

      Like

  2. I think an immense part of a good writer’s group is the willingness not to BS eachother. comments like “this is really good” or “great job” don’t develop anyone’s work. some of the best groups I’ve been in were ones where we were savage in our critiques (not in words or mockery, of course), it made us so much stronger as writers. Futhermore, when someone says “this is really good” in a group like that, it carries much more meaning than a fluffy, feel good community.

    That being said, I really need to find a writer’s group…

    Like

    • I agree with you, with the caveat that only seasoned writers can tolerate that much criticism and keep writing. New writers may get discouraged and give up. So, I think a balance is necessary if your writers group is mixed. I know my ego was far too fragile back in the day to survive what I regularly tolerate now.

      A writer’s group–are you in SoCal? You can join mine!

      Like

  3. I’ll say, I don’t connect with all the people, but enough that those eo week meetings are invaluable. It was difficult to find my group. Surprisingly, many groups are during the day, and those of us who can’t support our habit, must 9-5 it. How about you?

    Like

  4. Writer groups are so important. If you can find one where you connect with each person then you have it made. 🙂 Trust within it is also pretty important. I’d feel lost without a writer’s group lol.

    Like

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

