words / writing

I’m Adopting a Word

I heard about this from fellow blogger, Zee. The Oxford Dictionary is asking us bibliophiles to adopt a word that has fallen into

words

Save the Words Website

disuse and use it. It’s called Save the Words. I adopted the word

utible, or useful.

Such a lovely word. They suggest I use it in

  • meetings
  • as a pet’s name
  • in scrabble
  • in skywriting
  • in a text message
  • as a moniker
  • as graffiti

All excellent suggestions. I’ll have to think about it.

Here’s the rub: I think it’s already too late for the word utible (spellcheck on my browser doesn’t recognize it). I forgot what it meant so plugged it into Google (define:utible) and got no results. So I entered it into dictionary.com and they too provided zip. As a last resort, I went to Merriam Webster. With the original dictionary-maker, I figured they had to know.

Nothing.

I’m going to go back and adopt a different word.

Share

9 thoughts on “I’m Adopting a Word

  1. Pingback: I love Words | WordDreams...

  2. Pingback: I love Words « Jacqui Murray

  3. Pingback: I love Words « Word Dreams…

  4. Hi Jacqui! Lovely to see more people adopting words. Mine was ‘Radicarian’ meaning the root of words.

    I never thought to enter it into the search engine. I think I’m going to do that, see if I get the same results. But you’d think a word like ‘utible’ would still be known.

    Great post!

    Like

  5. I found out about this last week and I think it’s a great idea. I’ve adopted two words so far – vacivity (emptiness) and philargyrist (someone who loves money) – and can’t wait to fit them into my writing. Hopefully you’ll find one you can use as well, and who knows, if we all do it we could keep these words going for a bit longer.

    Like

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

