blogs / Polls

Are 7 Posts a Week Too Many?

I signed on to post daily this year, and now I’m rethinking that. Don’t get me wrong, I have lots to say about my art. I haven’t spoken nearly enough about the process of writing my current novel and how I hope to overcome problems, but I think daily it’s more than most of my subscribers want to read. Me, I find myself annoyed when I get daily posts from blogs I subscribe to because I don’t have enough time to read them. I signed on because I liked the author’s style, but I feel bad to trash them without reading when I run out of time.

What do you think? Shall I keep my posts at the previous three a week or up it to daily (which to me is 5x a week)?

 

Share

7 thoughts on “Are 7 Posts a Week Too Many?

  1. What’s your goal?

    I’ve seen quite a few times where bloggers will commit to writing x posts per day / week / month. I myself have tried it, just to see if I could and as a challenge to write better.

    Can I suggest putting a time frame on it? Something meaty & challenging. Perhaps blog daily until valentines day? And then post what you learnt – what was easy and what was hard.

    (I love metrics!) so I would be interested in what was your most popular, what was most retweeted, which had the most comments etc. etc.

    Good luck!

    Like

    • I’m entirely comfortable posting 3-4 x /wk. NP. It’s the more that gets me. Even that, I could do (though with my other columns and webmaster duties, it’s pushing it), but I think it’s too much for my readers. You’re more the pro, though. I can tell by your blog. Fascinating, though some of it is over my head. I’ll put some thought to it. Thanks for the ideas.

      Like

  2. Hi, Jacqui! Since you’re one of my favorite favorites, I don’t want to miss a word. So, for me, every day would be too much for me to keep up with, I think. But, in the end, you need to do what feels nest/right to you. –Hugs, Cheri

    Like

    • That’s how I am, too Cheri. I’d want to read it and be annoyed when I ran out of time. Maybe if each day had a different theme. Monday–Writer’s Tips. Tuesday–book review. Wednesday–update on my novel. Uh, what else?

      Like

  3. Jacqui,

    If you’ve got lots to say then I’ve got plenty of time to read it! Five days or Seven, bring it on!

    As you know I’ve always loved your posts so I’m a, “send it every day” voter. And yes, I’d love to hear more about the processes you go through in writing your current novel and definitely how you battle to overcome the day to day problems. How do you keep yourself writing? What do you do when you don’t feel like it? Is writing becomming a job to you and no longer a pleasure? All that sort of stuff.

    This subscriber wants you to throw as much as you can at her.

    And, I agree, you do find yourself becomming annoyed when you recieve daily posts from blogs that say nothing or if their content sucks. I get posts from Seth Godin everyday and sometimes I love what he has to say and othertimes I totally agree or think he’s on some wild drugs from another planet but overall I love his blog and I wouldn’t unsubscribe just because he has a different opinion to me at times. I’m here to learn all I can about writing and marketing and not to crawl into a dim dark cave and eat only bat droppings.

    Mostly, your posts, Jacqui, are on que with how I feel so I haven’t found myself deleting your subscriptions YET. If you post every day we shall see how many I want to read and how many I don’t but I think what I delete and what I read and how I choose to go about accpeting or rejecting your blog posts is really up to me. That is, after you’ve sent them of course 🙂

    And yes, I signed up for your blog becuase I enjoy your style so as a very loyal subscriber, I say, keep posting, no excuses.

    Zak.

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Zakgirl. I could talk forever, but my subscribers probably have a life so I try to temper it. You’ve given me lots of ideas on this subject, though. I may create a whole ‘nother blog on this very topic. Thanks for visiting!

      Like

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

