blogs / social networks / writing

WordDreams Hits a Milestone


Photo credit: Miss Piggy

200,000 hits! Wow. I didn’t see that in my future when I started this blog. Thank you guys for visiting, spreading the word, being so loyal. I try to listen to what you’re interested in and provide my take on it. That way, we both learn from each other, make this community of Indie writers stronger, more relevant and more fun.

My list of top posts haven’t changed much since January. Here’re the quarterly results:

Do You Have a Character Who’s a First Lady? 
178 Ways to Describe Women’s Clothing 
Ten Favorite Geek Words–Part I 
Home page 
113 Ways to Characterize Your Protagonist 
How to Describe a Person’s Clothing 
How To Describe Your Character’s Appearance 
Plotting a Story–with a Spreadsheet 
How To Write Descriptions People Want to Read 
How to Describe Nature 
All Posts

The one that got my attention was your interest in my series on descriptors–how to describe clothing, emotions, nature. I’m glad you-all find them useful. I’ll add a few more soon. I was also pleased to see how many of you visit All Posts. This tells me whatever brought you to my blog inspired you to stay a while. That’s cool.

It’s not just that you visit, stay for a while, and check other posts you’re interested in, it’s that you click through on average 48 times a day to other sites I link to. You trust me not to waste your time on frivolous links to sites you won’t care about as a writer. I take that trust seriously.

‘Nough said. Back to writing. I’ve got a novel to finish!


10 thoughts on “WordDreams Hits a Milestone

    • Thanks, Margaret. I’ve been blogging for a few years and am an inveterate student of the craft. I’ve learned to write what I love, what helps me and that seems to be what people want to read. Thanks for visiting!


    • Thanks Leanne. It kind of snuck up on me, but has re-energized me for more posts. Sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner. I’ve been at the SoCal Writer’s Conference all long weekend. What a great event. I’ll be posting about that this week.


  1. Wow, Jacqui! This is incredible! Congratulations! You give us slow pokes out here hope and inspiration! Take a little time to revel in your accomplishment, and then get back to that novel! –Cheri


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

