writers / writers tips

Writer’s Tip #57: You are not Superwoman

writers tips

Great tips for soon-to-be great writers

When you read your story, does it sound off, maybe you can’t quite put your finger on it, but you know you’ve done something wrong? Sometimes–maybe even lots of times–there are simple fixes. These writer’s tips will come at you once a week, giving you plenty of time to go through your story and make the adjustments.

Today’s tip: You are not superwoman. Don’t force yourself to wear the cape.

Here’s what I mean. You’re a working parent–maybe a single parent. You wake up going light speed from the moment your bare feet hit the carpet. You go to your day job 9-5. You come home and make dinner, do homework with your children, get them in bed, make sure they have a dose of play with mom (or dad).

Then you do the household stuff–pay bills, do dishes, take the dog out for his business, maybe some cleaning.

By now, it’s 10pm. Somehow busy doesn’t quite cover your daily schedule. That story that’s banging around in your head like a caged bird is still there, begging to be told. What do you do?

I don’t really have an answer. I had to wait until my kids grew up to write. I thought I’d retire, let me husband work while I lived the leisurely life of an author. That didn’t work out, but I no longer worry about a spotless house, a pristine kitchen. I realize I am not superwoman, never was. Now I’m a writer who has a day job.

How about you?

Click to have Writer’s Tips delivered to your email box

Follow me.


Share

12 thoughts on “Writer’s Tip #57: You are not Superwoman

  1. I love writing {prefer by hand} since I could remember. I write, type or blog as much as I remember. Right now is the best time, while my baby is sleeping and my two older children are in school. The down-side of having children and writing together: My princess dunked a few of my journals but it is all up in my mind somewhere. Writing truly is a refreshing outlet that I have a combined with my bless photography. I love reading all kind of books and blogs for good tips, thank you!

    Like

    • I long ago realized that having kids meant nothing else was more valuable. Not china, crystal, paintings–or journals it seems. I’m sure that pushed the edge of your patience, though. I back up all of my writing four times because I’m paranoid of losing it. Kudos to you for your peaceful acceptance of the inevitable.

      Like

  2. Ah, excellent post. I think trying to be a superhero is what we women are often told we need to be in this modern world. We are supposed to be able to bring home the bacon and fry it up in a pan as the old song goes. Also, I’d just like to say that I often find that a husband can be just as demanding upon my time as a child would be. 🙂

    Like

    • It helps me also to forgive myself for not being able to do it all. I just took on another job–as Amazon Vine Voice. But, most of the women I know think One More Task is they way life runs, like Pacman in a business suit, we never stop.

      May I suggest anyone in need of a virtual break should visit your last post, Elizabeth. Such peaceful pictures!

      Like

  3. This is what I struggle with daily – wondering where I misplaced the cape, scratching my head as I try to eke out where I could possibly find some superhuman powers – so that I can do Everything. I love this post. I love your open-ended answer to it.
    Michele comments that she hopes to be published waaayy before the craziness sets in, and best wishes to her on that one, but even if the crazy marriage/children fairy DOES visit, writing pursuits don’t have to screech to a halt. It’s a meandering journey, a good, joyful and crazy superhero-without-the-cape-or-powers journey that involves a lot of interruptions, but masses of inspiration.

    Like

    • I swear I started with a cape, when–like Michelle–I had no husband or kids or bills. Then, I used it for baby blankets, or curtains in a bedroom–I forget where it went, but I’m not looking for a new one.

      Like

  4. I’m twenty at the moment and hoping to be published way before those particular responsibilities set in. College and friends and family take most of my time right now, but I do have a lot of time to write. I have a day job, too, but they’re just not giving me any hours so….

    I have no intention of marriage or children for a long time for just that exact reason ;D

    Like

    • Good decisions, Michelle! I didn’t get married until early thirties. That gave me time to get settled into life. You have college to finish–maybe a grad degree. Jobs to get, a life to start and still there’s the writing. I’m a light shade of envy. I look forward to your book!

      Like

  5. Great post. I definitely try to be superwoman too much – and i don’t even have kids (just two horses, a demanding vegetable garden, and a very full-time job!). I find getting up an hour earlier than i have to and writing before the day starts gives me my writing ‘fix’ 🙂

    Like

    • I’m trying to picture a demanding vegetable garden. That’s an image! I like your reference to ‘fix’. Isn’t that what writing is–a great way to start the day!

      Like

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

