blogs / writers resources

Six Great Blogs You May Not Have Heard Of

There are a lot of blogs available to help you hone your craft on writing. I list some of them here throughout my blog posts, others on my Writer’s Resources page, but

GREAT BLOGS

Blogs you wont want to miss

I wanted to set these six aside so you don’t miss them. It took me months of digging to find them and now I wouldn’t be without my weekly fixes. See if you agree.

Alexandra Sokolof

Alexandra Sokolof is the author of a string of thrillers. In her blog, she shares everything about how to write, from details to check lists. There is nothing about your obsession she doesn’t know and discuss.

Forward Motion

Forward Motion’s core purpose is to help writers become professionally published, which includes big publishers, small press and electronic publications with a traditional set up (submissions, chance of rejection, and editing as part of the regular makeup of the company). We welcome serious writing hobbyists as well, but our purpose and goals are geared toward professional careers. We do not allow fanfiction posts and we don’t promote self-publishing.

Grammar Girl

Quick and dirty writing tips on lots more than grammar

Kill Zone

This one’s for thriller writers (that’s my genre when I’m not writing non-fic) . Great writing. Great personalities. A lot of fun to read–and motivating. It makes me want to write better.

Newbie’s Guide to Publishing

This is one of the best blogs I’ve seen that discusses how, why, and where to self-publish. J. A. Konrath, the webmaster, has published traditionally, but now self-pub’s. It’s a choice. He explains every facet of this decision right down to the balance sheet. He has lots of guest bloggers who share their stories, too. If you are struggling to find an agent, this might be the perfect blog for you.

Writing World

So many tips and tricks, resources and freebies, I can’t mention them all. I found it when I had my first book show and it had tips for manning my booth.

What are your favorites?

Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-fifth grade and creator of two technology training books for middle school. She is the author of Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman. She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com, Editorial Review Board member for SIGCT, IMS tech expert, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything and Technology in Education. Currently, she’s working on a techno-thriller that should be ready this summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

Follow me.

6 thoughts on “Six Great Blogs You May Not Have Heard Of

  1. Pingback: Rebecca Bradley Honored Me! | WordDreams...

  2. Pingback: Times They are A'Changing (Blog News) Am I the Only One Dancing?

    • Are there any that you just can’t live without? If I had to pick one from my list, it’d be Newbie’s Guide. Konrath has amazing things to say about the state of the publishing industry.

      Like

  3. I signed up to receive your blog in my email and I’m so glad I did. You are a valuable resource for supplying people with what they need to know for success. You have inspired me. And so, I woke up early this morning and wrote an article to help other writers, especially beginning writers. Since I write for children, I tend to focus on the needs of children. My article is called How to Develop an Inventor’s Mind for Fiction Writing. It also gives some tips for how to break past writer’s block. You can find it at http://warriorsoftheedge.com/blog-3-fiction-tips_274.html Thank you for all the inspiration. Katie Bridges

    Like

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

