tech tips for writers

Tech Tip For Writers #12: Wrap Text Around a Picture

tech tips for writers

Tech Tips for Soon-to-be Great Writers

Tech Tips for Writers is an (almost) weekly post on overcoming Tech Dread. I’ll cover issues that friends, both real-time and virtual, have shared. Feel free to post a comment about a question you have. I’ll cover it in a future Tip.

Q: I want my text to wrap around the picture I inserted, but it goes under/above it. There’s a big white space I can’t type in. What do I do?

A: I get this from students a lot. They want text to flow around the picture, but when they add the image to their Word doc, the text stays above and below. Not pretty.

If you have this problem, here’s what you do:

  • double click the image
  • go to the middle tab on the dialogue box that comes up
  • go to the middle selection
  • say OK

how to wrap text

Text now flows around the picture

Questions you want answered? Leave a comment here and I’ll answer it within the next thirty days.

Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-fifth grade and creator of two technology training books for middle school. She is the author of Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman. She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, an IMS tech expert, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything and Technology in Education. Currently, she’s working on a techno-thriller that should be ready this summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

Follow me.

6 thoughts on “Tech Tip For Writers #12: Wrap Text Around a Picture

  1. Here’s a good one for you on this. I finally got a ghost writing job going and my boss has his document margins set rather oddly. I don’t understand why either. I’m hoping that it has something to do with the difference between his PC and my MAC, but I really don’t see how in this case. Anyway, the document margins are roughly a half inch in from the edge of the ‘paper’ and then the text margins are set at an inch inside of that. This document has a lot of pictures, and unless I set the text wrap to top and bottom that one inch margin shows on the text-side of the picture as well. There’s an advanced setting where you can set how far away from text you want your picture to appear, but even set at 0 there’s the one inch gap. I’ve checked; it definitely is the margin setting being different from the document margin. I just never figured it would show up like that. There’s this one-inch white sidewall between the text and the picture no matter which side of the document I move it to. You wouldn’t have any ideas, would you?

    Like

      • Yeah, I changed that last time, though not for the picture placement reason. He changed them back. He has a whole lot more publishing experience than I do, plus he is the boss, so I guess I’ll leave the margins alone. I’m kinda OCD on odd numbers though and those margins are all of that. Whatever – it’s his book.

        It is fun though, and very interesting. My first ‘venture’ into non-fiction.

        Like

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tech Tips for Writers | Jacqui Murray's WordDreams...

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

