writers resources

Southern California Writers Conference

This weekend, I’ll be attending the 9th Annual Southern California Writers Conference in Los Angeles (held in Newport Beach). It’s Sept. 23-25, starts early and ends well after dark. The guys who run it don’t understand the need for sleep us mere

writers conference

This weekend, from 8am till well after midnight.

mortals have and have ‘rogue’ workshops till well after midnight. I tuck in earlier so don’t look for me there. It promises to provide ‘authoritative guidance to help distinguish material ready for market consideration’ and has facilitated nearly $4 million worth of first-time authors’ book and screen deals. The last mss I took there (February in their San Diego location), I got essential guidance that changed big parts of my story for the better. I couldn’t have been happier with my investment of time and money.

I’m hoping to repeat that. This year, I have an iPad instead of my clunky laptop that was constantly out of power. Where’s the closest duplex plug??? Which adage will win out this weekend? Will ‘history repeat itself’? Or ‘we can’t go back’ and the reviewers’ comments will be a mere shadow of their predecessors foundational guidance?

Either way, the workshops are wonderful so I won’t be wasting my time. They are pithy, nuts and bolts, mostly offered by professionals who seem to care that we-all wanna-be successful writers make it. I’m impressed with the presenters usually.
If you live in SoCal and are considering attending, here are my thoughts on the last SCWC I attended.

If you’re there this weekend, come find me! I’ll be alone, looking for new friends. If you don’t go, get some sleep for me.

 


Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-fifth grade and creator of two technology training books for middle school. She is the author of Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman.  She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.comEditorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing TeachersIMS tech expert, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything and Technology in Education. Currently, she’s working on a techno-thriller that should be ready this summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

Follow me

3 thoughts on “Southern California Writers Conference

  1. Sure wish I could be there with you, Jacqui! I love those conferences, and experiencing one with you in person would be such a kick. Hope you find this one as useful as last year’s. Can’t wait to hear the update!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Southern California Writers Conference – Jacqui Murray's WordDreams | 2 to 4 Units

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

