authors / blogs / writers / writers resources / writing

10 Hits and Misses for 2011

Since I started this blog thirty months ago, I’ve had almost 360,000 visitors–more than double last year, 1300 on my busiest day, visiting the 520 articles I’ve written on

hits and misses

Top 10 hits and misses for 2011

every facet of writing. As with most bloggers, I write what’s on my mind 3-4 times a week. It may be about the craft of writing, trends in the industry, or how my writing business is doing. I have regular features, like Tech Tips for Writers and Writing Tips. It’s a fast changing writing world. I’m just trying to hang on and share the ride.

It always surprises me what readers find to be the most provocative–as surprising as what holds no interest for anyone but me! It’s usually a post I put heart and soul into, sure I was sharing Very Important Information, and I get three readers who slog their way through it. Talk about humility. Here they are–my top 10 and bottom 10:

Top Ten Hits

  1. How to Describe Dogs–almost double last year’s top post which included a creepy picture of a spider bite. Yuck!
  2. My Character is Sick–How to Show (Not Tell) Some Illnesses–need a disgusting illness for your character? Click here.
  3. Ten Favorite Geek Words–Part I–vocabulary is far more popular than I ever thought it would be–especially geek words. Maybe techno-thrillers re making a comeback
  4. Do You Have a Character Who’s a First Lady?–I think this one got a lot of non-writer hits from people seeking info on Michelle Obama
  5. 178 Ways to Describe Women’s Clothing–I learned a lot writing this post, so I’m not surprised readers were curious
  6. How To Write Descriptions People Want to Read: Wild Animals
  7. How To Write Descriptions People Want to Read: Horses
  8. How to Show (Not Tell) an Emotion–A to D
  9. How to Tell if Someone is Lying: Body Language
  10. How To Describe Your Character’s Appearance

Overall, the craft of writing articles were more popular than the business end of the job.

Top Ten Misses

  1. Science as Storyteller
  2. The Business of Blogging: Reviews
  3. Book Review: Cold Glory
  4. Recognize the Early Warning Signs of a New Book Inside You
  5. Selling on Amazon
  6. File This Under ‘Fact is Stranger Than Fiction’
  7. Tech Tip for Writers #21: How to Make a Small Webpage Window Big
  8. Calling All Thriller Writers–ThrillerFest is Here
  9. Book Review: Act of Deceit
  10. How Do You Use Twitter

If you’re a writer, what were your most popular posts about?

Follow me


Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-fifth grade and author of two technology training books for middle school. She wrote Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman. She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a tech columnist for Examiner.comEditorial Review Board member for ISTE’s Journal for Computing TeachersIMS tech expert, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything. Currently, she’s seeking representation for a techno-thriller Any suggestions? Contact Jacqui at her writing office, WordDreams, or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

4 thoughts on “10 Hits and Misses for 2011

  1. Congrats on having so many views and all the success with your blog. I’m pretty new at this, but it is very. My best reads (well most visited) seem to be when I write about travel tips and finds.. perhaps I should stick to what I am good at.

    Like

    • Thanks, Cole. I’ve been at it for a while. I’ve found if you stick to a theme (like travel maybe for you–writing for me), you attract more visitors and they return. They learn to like your voice and writing style and want more. Good luck with your adventure!

      Like

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

