tech tips for writers

Tech Tip for Writers #54: How to Auto Forward a PowerPoint Slideshow

tech tipsTech Tips for Writers is an (almost) weekly post on overcoming Tech Dread. I’ll cover issues that friends, both real-time and virtual, have shared. Feel free to post a comment about a question you have. I’ll cover it in a future Tip.

Q: I want to use PowerPoint to share my novel with a writer’s group who’s asked me to talk with their members. I want it to go automatically without requiring me to click the mouse or push the space bar. How do I do that?

A: PowerPoint presentations are great for sharing information with their exciting colors, sounds, movements. You’ll be happy to know that auto-forward isn’t difficult:

  • go to Transition on the menu bar
  • go to Timing on the right side
  • Leave ‘on mouse click’ selected (in case you need to move it forward)
  • set the timer to serve the needs of the slide. This will require practice before presenting so you  can put the correct time in.

Questions you want answered? Leave a comment here and I’ll answer it within the next thirty days.


Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-sixth grade, creator of two technology training books for middle school and three ebooks on technology in education. She is the author of Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, Cisco blogger, IMS tech expert, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything. Currently, she’s editing a thriller for her agent that should be out to publishers this summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

Follow me.


12 thoughts on “Tech Tip for Writers #54: How to Auto Forward a PowerPoint Slideshow

  1. Hi again, Jacqui-
    Your comment about computers and writing got me thinking about my own preferences. I prefer the keyboard and its attendant computer because I have horrid penmanship. Really!
    Whenever there’s a special reason to write someone, I do make the effort to improve my penmanship and write letters or cards.
    At least I try!
    Thanks for the post,


    • A big part of writing has become computers. I know less and less people who use pen and paper for writing. In fact, I can’t name one. I realized there are skills I use every day in my writing that have problems (now and then).

      These are them!


  2. ‘Tech Dread’ is something I’ve been suffering from for years, Jacqui! I’m 55+ now and remember the days of binary cards-those were a nightmare. I promised myself never to touch a computer again.
    Around 4 years ago, I reconsidered, and bought one-as you can imagine, it has changed my life. In a positive way.
    I have become a writer with articles and writings-musings, mostly-published here on WordPress and I am finally realizing my dreams.
    Thanks so much for commenting on my brand spanking new site, and all the best to you and your impressive work.
    Thanks again,


      • Ah, Jacqui, thanks so very much! I really do appreciate your words.
        Do come join me and write at my new site, “”-that would be amazing!
        But, I must ask, can you in the first place? Or is my blog theme able to accept submissions? Can you tell?
        I’m not certain!
        Thanks yet again!


  3. I have a question for you. I have accumulated some really cool slideshows sent to me by email. I think I would like to show them off on one of my blogs – not sure which one yet – but the only gadget for adding slideshows doesn’t have a way to add one from my computer. It’s nothing vital – just something I think about once in a while.


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

