problem-solving / tech tips for writers / writers tips / writing

Tech Tips for Writers #94: Shortkey for Find

Tech Tips for Writers is an (almost) weekly post on overcoming Tech Dread. I’ll cover issues that friends, both real-time and virtual, have shared. Feel free to post a comment about a question you have. I’ll cover it in a future Tip.

Q: Isn’t there a shortkey for searching a website?

A: There is. It’s Ctrl+F. It’s been around for, well, forever, but I’d forgotten about it until my efriend Sandy reminded me. As she posted on her blog, EdTechSandy, If you didn’t know about CTRL+F, don’t feel bad. According to the article, 90% of folks don’t know about it.

Follow me

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing TeachersCisco guest blog,Technology in Education featured blogger, IMS tech expert, and a bi-weekly contributor to Today’s Author. In her free time, she is the editor of a K-8 technology curriculumK-8 keyboard curriculumK-8 Digital Citizenship curriculum, and creator of technology training books for how to integrate technology in education. Currently, she’s editing a thriller that should be out to publishers next summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

17 thoughts on “Tech Tips for Writers #94: Shortkey for Find

  1. Oh boy! I did it! I did it! I did it! And I didn’t break my computer. (That was last week.) All I had to do was add my email address in the second line about filling in details. Wow, now I’m a computer maven.
    Sorry for taking up so much space here, but I feel like a success!
    And BTW, it’s my face that I painted turquoise, not my hair. That’s my natural color – hee hee hee.


  2. Oops! Now my Gravatar image has disappeared, but that’s me in the “Like this” section, turquoise hair and all. This Gravatar business has me stumped – it’s like trying to get a worn out stamp to stick. And comments that I think disappeared are posting twice.
    It says that the image will show every time I leave a comment, but so far, no go. As usual, I’m stuck in computer dummy-land. I should enroll in your kindergarten tech class.


  3. Thanks for this tip! BTW: I’m guessing that every key if attached to Ctrl will create a command – right? So if I play, i might figure out others?

    Did you notice that my Gravatar has finally attached? I’m not even sure how I did it, but thanks for the tip about searching for


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

