awards / blogs / writers

Rebecca Bradley Honored Me!

very inspiringI am honored to be tagged by two bloggers I follow–Rebecca Bradley over a Rebecca Bradley Crime (an amazing blog about the crime genre–check it out) and Lonnieta over at LonnietaLouise–makes me think positive when I’d rather grouse about the injustice of the world. I am flattered to be considered by both of these women as ‘very inspiring’.

OK, sure, it was a month ago. My award isn’t for punctuality or follow-through. In fact, I’ve never received that sort of award. Hmm… Let’s move on.

Here are the rules of the award:

  • Thank and link to the person who nominated you (done)
  • List the rules and display the award (done)
  • Share seven facts about yourself (done)
  • Nominate 15 other amazing blogs and comment on their posts to let them know they have been nominated (close enough)
  • Optional: display the award logo on your blog and follow the blogger who nominated you (of course)

Let’s get started! Seven facts about myself. What don’t you already know about me?

  1. I have a consuming interest in man’s roots–way back to his earliest Homo habilis days. It continues no matter how much I read and study about it. Something feeds it, but I have no idea what
  2. I get a lot of joy from puppy pictures. I read somewhere that some school was considering bringing puppies in while students were taking tests to keep them calm. That wouldn’t work for me–I’d be distracted.
  3. I don’t like leaving my home. There are a lot of reasons, but I’ve begun to wonder if I’m somewhat agorophobic. Or just old.
  4. My BS meter is often in the red zone when I watch the news. It didn’t used to be that way
  5. I have a genetic inability to quit. That may sound good, but it causes all sorts of problems. Ask my kids
  6. Building on that last, I am in a continual battle with myself to allow my children to be adults. After all, they’re 26 and 28. That’s grown up enough to let go. What do you think?
  7. The older I get, the more I realize what I used to consider ‘genius’ is now simply ‘common sense’.

Here’s my list of 15 er, 9 wonderful blogs I have enjoyed and benefited from reading:

  • Shari Pratt over at Ink Flare–she doesn’t post nearly enough for my taste, but each one is a treasure
  • Lana Wimmer’s Spare Change–an American abroad who shares her reflections and observations
  • Millie Ho–her posts are fresh and unfettered
  • Tess over at How the Cookie Crumbles--currently, she’s sharing a  series of posts on her trip to China. I feel like I went, too
  • Medeia over at Medeia Sharif--this woman writes as much as any three people. And, she always answers posts and comments on what I’m doing. I aspire to be Medeia.
  • Glynis Jolly at Speculations Impressed–her openness about her disabilities has helped me understand
  • JF of Pursuit of Happiness–his reflections on that subject remind me what’s important
  • Ankur Mithal at Darkofficehumor–his dry sense of humor as he observes the world around him keep me chuckling, even on bad days
  • GP over at Pacific Paratrooper–he knows so much about the Korean War (and several others), but what’s really impressive is that his thoughts are always supported with evidence

A reminder to my nominees: You are feted for who you are and how I have benefited from knowing you. There is no obligation to pass this award on or respond in any way. I’m simply thrilled to have met you.

More bloggers you might want to know:

Six Great Blogs You May Not Have Heard Of

You Might be a Blogger if…

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. In her free time, she is  editor of technology training books for how to integrate technology in education. Currently, she’s editing a techno-thriller that should be out to publishers next summer.

Follow me.

24 thoughts on “Rebecca Bradley Honored Me!

  1. Congratulations on your well-deserved honor, Jacqui! I like your last fact. I used to be confused and awed by seemingly monumental achievements. Then I took a class in business school about success and creativity and learned that luck and practice were more important than innate ‘genius’.

    Thank you for nominating me! I always enjoy reading your new posts.


    • I always told my kids that success didn’t necessarily go to the best, but the most tenacious. Now, as young adults, they see the truth in that–and what you’re saying. Thanks, Milie, for your wisdom.


  2. Congratulations, Jacqui. No-one is as deserving of this award. Your blog is chockfull of the best writing advice anywhere. How you ever manage to post writing tips, guest post, read and write reviews and write novels is mind-boggling. You are the most generous and supportive writer in the blogosphere.

    Thank you for nominating me. I am honored to have made your list and am tickled, to find myself in such amazing company. Can you see me blush with pleasure? Alas I cannot carry out my duties as I stopped accepting awards a long time ago (because I need my beauty sleep when I can manage it).❤


    • No worries about that, Tess. It’s not about you writing the blog–it’s about all the wonderful writing you’ve done in the past. I so love your blog. No response required. A lot of people don’t accept awards anymore. This is just to tell you how much I appreciate you.


  3. Congratulations Jacqui! One would have thought that at some point you will run out of informative and useful stuff you produce on your blog. After all, how much useful stuff can there be?? But no. I was wrong once again. Your blog is a treasure trove for aspiring writers like me.
    And, I am bowled over to find my blog amongst the nine you have listed. Thank you! I am honoured.


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

