Most Commented Posts

I’m alpeople icons dialog speech bubblesways surprised by which posts inspire readers to comment. Like most writers, I have a small group of devoted fans who I can always count on to remind me I’m not writing to a void. But beyond these wonderful efriends, each post garners a few more responses from people I don’t know. I always drop by their blogs to visit and see what motivates them to be bloggers and writers. Sometimes, they’re artists, poets, good Samaritans, and/or just plain ordinary people who have reached out.

I want to share some of my most commented blogs with you. This list is surprisingly different from ‘Most Visited’. I’ll show you the comparison:

Most Commented

  1.  51 Great Similes to Spark ImaginationFace people   on Cement wall texture background
  2. How to Describe an American–if You Aren’t
  3. 10 Tips for Picture Book Writers (a guest post from a wonderful efriend and artist)
  4. 8 Tips for Historic Fiction Writers
  5. 10 Tips for Steampunk Writers (this one surprised me. I wrote it based on research and found out what an amazing genre this is)
  6. 6 Things I Wish I’d Known When I Started Blogging
  7. 178 Ways to Describe Women’s Clothing
  8. #IWSG–Am I a Storyteller?
  9. 14 Tips for Young Adult Writers
  10. 13 Ways to Exorcise Wordiness

Most Visited

  1. 51 Great Similes to Spark Imagination (tops both lists. That surprised me)
  2. 178 Ways to Describe Women’s Clothing
  3. 35 Weird Traits Your Characters May Have
  4. How to Describe a Landscape
  5. How to Describe Nature
  6. How to Describe an American–if You Aren’t
  7. One-Word Characteristics to Spice Up Your Writing
  8. How to Describe a Person’s Clothing
  9. How To Describe Noses, Mouths, Legs, and more
  10. How to Describe Dogs

I’d love to hear what your most-commented blog post is.

Jacqui Murray is the author of dozens of books (on technology in education) as well as the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. In her free time, she is  editor of technology training books for how to integrate technology in education. Currently, she’s editing a techno-thriller that should be out to publishers next summer.

Follow me.


32 thoughts on “Most Commented Posts

  1. It’s interesting to have a look through the stats, Jacqui. My most visited post is one I have hidden within another post (which is highly intriguing because you can only find it by searching key words!). I think it’s ‘most visited’ because it was picked up by an online newspaper – and I still get hits on it😉


    • Well that’ll do it, Dianne–picked up by a newspaper! I’m impressed. You have a lot of comments on your posts about renovating the RUC. What a fun journey that’s been!

      I love comments–it’s a conversation with people on fascinating topics that I find interesting (writing).


  2. I love your lists and tips. They make me think about writing. Not that I don’t regularly think about writing, but tips on specifics make you think about the process–the craft of it.
    Not surprisingly my most commented upon (and most visited) posts are from the emu series. People just love weird animals. My most commented post is “So Here’s the Drill.” My most visited post is “Naming Emus.” I must say that there’s absolutely no evidence that my blog has led to book sales. I started because “they” said you have to. Later, I realized that blogging has its own satisfactions.


    • Excellent point. I haven’t published my book yet, but the more I’m at blogging, the less I think it’ll boost my book sales. Like you say, it’s more about the other pieces that come along with blogging.

      I’m going over to your blog to check out ‘So Here’s the Drill’. That sounds interesting.


  3. I learn so much from you Jacqui. As you know my blog is new and I haven’t quite figured out what to do with it yet. But your blog is one I study not just for the content of your posts, but all the other aspects which get readers engaged and commenting. In the years I have been following your blog I only began commenting after publishing my novels, but be assured, you have been an invaluable resource to me and my writing. Any blogging tips will be welcome.


    • Oh this is funny, Michael. I didn’t even see the link for your blog–though you didn’t have one (or it was hidden). Now that you’ve mentioned it, I found it under the palm frond! I’m going to check it out.


  4. For me, my blog has only 4 people commented on my ‘stuff’. Three of which, you, Jacque graciously, commented on. My biggest question, to not only you, Jacque, but to the blogging public: how do I get more ‘traffic’ on my blog, not just ‘likes’?


    • From my experience, it’s by participating in the community–like you’re doing here. Add relevant comments. Be interested. Help other commenters. Write about topics important to other people.


  5. I’ll have to review my stats. I’m told I should do that, but statistics just give me a headache. Still, I can see the benefits; the time of day to post, subjects people enjoy, etc. etc. I liked the post about how to describe an American (just took a peek). I love everything about America, always have. I don’t know where it comes from, but I tend to have rose-coloured glasses. Perhaps I was a Yank in a former life – who knows🙂


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

