book reviews

Book Review: Hunted

Hunted (The Profiler, #1)Hunted

by Elizabeth Heiter

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

View all my reviews

Elizabeth Heiter’s debut novel, Hunted:The Profiler (Harlequin Mira 2014) is a solid start, but I’ll need more to keep reading. This is the story of FBI profiler Evelyn Baine who struggles to stop a serial killer who buries his victims up to their necks after he’s killed them. Baine–according to the best profilers in the BAU (think Criminal Minds)–is the best among them, but when this monster captures her and she barely escapes, it becomes personal. It also throws her off her game.

The meat of the story is Baine’s efforts to prove herself in a male world despite her petite stature and stunning looks, wrestle with demons from her past that make her socially awkward around pretty much everyone, and fight a growing attraction to an HRT friend (the FBI’s hostage rescue team). She spends much of the time doubting herself even while she excels at her job. In true romance fashion, the story is salted with a bubbling love interest she fights, but is distracted by.

This is Heiter’s first in a series starring Evelyn Baine, FBI profiler (next one will be Vanished, due out in approx. a year). I love that character and eagerly read this type of novel. In Heiter’s case, her main character is flat (gorgeous, troubled background, genius talent mitigated by constant self-doubt). I don’t see a lot of growth between page one and page 363. The plot is standard, spiced with a few unique twists I won’t share. I’ll be honest–the focus on the boy-girl stuff gets in the way for me. It may not for you. It is more appropriately cataloged in the sub genre ‘Romantic thriller’.

Still, this is only book one in Heiter’s hopefully illustrious writing career. Many new authors start rocky and become mountains. I’d recommend it with reservations.

For more on this book, check out Bree’s take on it over at All the Books I Can Read. she covers a few details I didn’t. One more to check before you buy is Publisher’ Weekly. A nice short, pithy overview.

To purchase this book from Amazon, click Hunted (The Profiler)

More mystery/detective reviews:

Book Review: Crimes of Memory

Book Review: The House at Sea’s End

Book Review: Locked In

Jacqui Murray is the author of dozens of books (on technology in education) as well as the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. In her free time, she is  editor of technology training books for how to integrate technology in education. Currently, she’s editing a techno-thriller that should be out to publishers next summer.

Follow me.

14 thoughts on “Book Review: Hunted

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Deadly Obsession | WordDreams...

  2. Pingback: Book Review: The Killing Lessons | WordDreams...

  3. Pingback: Book Review: The Black Ace | WordDreams...

  4. Pingback: Book Review: The Third Rule of Ten | WordDreams...

  5. I find that since I’ve written two now, I search out debut novels. Sometimes you’re pleasantly surprised at how seamless and sophisticated it is, sometimes you learn what not to do, next time.


    • I’m surprised how many unknown authors I love. I get a lot of those through my Vine review gig–new authors are much more likely to sign up with Amazon Vine. I’ve found some I went back and read everything they wrote. David Rosenfelt, most recently.


    • I’ve read a few romantic thrillers–can’t come up with their titles at the moment–that were good because they didn’t focus overly on the romance. That’s just me. It probably contradicts what most readers want in a romance!


    • When I fall in love with an author, I often read everything they’ve written. I have to remember that their early books are probably not as representative as the later ones I found and loved. A few exceptions–David Rosenfelt, John MacDonald, Patricia Cornwell (to me, her early books were better than later).


  6. As always a very interesting review. Balancing out a plot with character development is far from easy, as I know. I read a comment recently from Martin Amis saying he was ashamed of his first three books, and I certainly understand that it takes more than one novel for a writer to gain full control of his or her craft.


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

