humor / marketing / writing

Top Ten Marketing Tips for Your Ebook

writers groupThis post is for Alex Cavanaugh’s Insecure Writers Support Group. Click the link for details on what #IWSG means and how to join. You will also find a list of bloggers signed up to the challenge that are worth checking out. The first Wednesday of every month, we all post our thoughts, fears or words of encouragement for fellow writers.

This month is the one year anniversary of this group. Instead of an insecurity, we’re sharing tips on writing, publishing, and marketing. Here are my top ten tips on marketing:

  1. Spend a few minutes a day working on the cover bio – “He divides his time between Kabul and Tierra del Fuego.” But then get back to the work of writing. (credit: Roddy Doyle)
  2. When do you start marketing? When you run out of words to write in your book.
  3. Nothing says ‘marketing’ like spray-and-pray: Post to blogs, Twitter, Pinterest, FB, LinkedIn. Comment on other people’s blogs, tweets, FB stream, LinkedIn discussions. Do this a lot!
  4. Marketing is like Groundhog Day. Every morning, wake up and do everything under #3. And then repeat.
  5. The key to marketing: Get to the part quickly where readers give a s***. They don’t like to waste time.
  6. Marketing is baby steps. Doing something–(see #3 and #4)–anything–lessons the panic of wondering “What the f*** do I do now?”
  7. If speaking nicely about yourself feels like choking on a chicken bone, get over it. It’s like the Heimlich Maneuver–it must be done or your book will die.
  8. When trying a new marketing approach, be a tad on the wildly optimistic side.
  9. Who hasn’t found a room s/he can’t dominate? Pick that room. Share your good news.
  10. The shortest distance between two people is a good laugh. Remember that when you’re marketing.

More humor for writers:

How to Talk to a Writer

Do You Really Want to Try to Earn a Living as a Writer?

Inspirational and Humorous Quotes–Part I

Jacqui Murray is the author of dozens of books (on technology in education) as well as the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. In her free time, she is  editor of technology training books for how to integrate technology in education. Currently, she’s editing a techno-thriller that should be out to publishers next summer.

Follow me.

46 thoughts on “Top Ten Marketing Tips for Your Ebook

  1. Pingback: 31+ Ideas to Market Your Novel | Today's Author

  2. Pingback: 29+ Ways to Market Your Book | WordDreams...

  3. Pingback: Tell Again Tuesday Top Ten Marketing Tips for Your Ebook | C.D. Hersh

  4. Pingback: Posts to Check Out! | A Writer's Life For Me.

  5. You did a great job on this list and I thank you profusely. Really good timing for me. Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting. I really can’t say how good this particular IWSG Wed blogging day has been for me this month!! I’m trying to spit out the chicken bone right now… Thanks again Jacqui!


  6. A humorous teacher. Who would have guess?🙂

    In small towns, a lot of the eateries have bulletin boards. Why not put up a little colored cardboard plaque announcing the book and where to buy it?


    • I get the same feeling when I watch a rerun of a favorite show I swear I’ve never seen before. And then, about 80% through it, I realize the truth. Which is OK–I had the joy of watching it again for the first time!


  7. I always struggle with the marketing, and sadly have the sales to prove it. I get Blogging, I think but struggle with FB and Twitter. I don’t much like small talk, so just saying something to be heard is difficult for me. I am trying to learn, because getting out ‘there’ matters to me. Very sadly, I had between 20 and 30 reviews on my last book, and the graph shows they made very little difference. “Must try harder” is all I can say to myself


    • That’s a lot of reviews. I can never get more than ten–fifteen at the top. You did something right, Peter.

      I don’t know how much SM works, but I do know that the cooperative where I post my books–most people get to it by entering it’s web address. Google searches rarely bring it up. People seek it out because of word of mouth so something works.


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

