social networks / writers tips

15 Tips Picked Up From Twitter

I confess, I like Twitter. It’s pithy, cogent, brief, with the type of Headline Hints that stick. I don’t always believe them, but am often entertained. And the posters–love them. They always catch my attention for at least a second. I created my own group of aphoristic posters using Canva and Muzy (very easy. Click the links and try them):


*—credit for quotes to Richard Bausch

About once a year, I curate a list of favorite Twitter tips. Here are my 2014 favorites:

  1. Loading the dishwasher is not the time to get CREATIVE.
  2. One page at a time (@NaNoWriMo)
  3. “If you want to write, you can. Fear stops most people from writing, not lack of talent…” (@advicetowriters)
  4. Start with a memorable introduction (@galleycat)
  5. Don’t pause for research. Guess. Fake it. Leave a mark in the MS and follow up (@jamesscottbel–referring to getting a novel done during #NaNoWriMo)
  6. credit: Debbie Ridpath Oh @inkyelbowsnanowrimo
  7. Broken sleep is a golden time for creativity (@doctorow)
  8. After finishing your draft, ignore it for a month. Then start editing (@Masqcrew)
  9. 1) Write some words. 2) Look at the words. 3) Delete the words. 4) Sigh. 5) Make an omelette. (@matthaig1)
  10. Use a crock pot, save cooking time, write a novel (@mashable)
  11. The time to write has to be created (@fionaquinnbooks)
  12. Success is 1% inspiration, 98% perspiration and 2% attention to detail- (@jonnygeller)
  13. Write without fear; edit without mercy (@i_author)
  14. The problem with cliché is when you plug in the basic template and never set the customizations. (@indieplottwist)
  15. There are really only three stories: audience goes away unhappy, audience goes away happy, audience never comes (@Shakespeare)

More Twitter writing tips:

27 More (Writing) Tips From Twitter

21 Tips About Writing From Twitter

Writers Tip #88: 16 Tips Picked Up From Twitter

To have these tips delivered to your email, click here.

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of dozens of books on integrating tech into education, webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics.

Follow me.

41 thoughts on “15 Tips Picked Up From Twitter

  1. Pingback: 21 Writing Tips Found on Twitter « Jacqui Murray

  2. Pingback: 21 Writing Tips From Twitter | WordDreams...

  3. Pingback: How to Talk to People Online | WordDreams...

  4. Pingback: Today's Author | How to Talk to People Online

  5. Pingback: 11 Tips You Don’t Want to Miss about Writing a Novel | WordDreams...

  6. Informative post Jacqui, it’s actually scary how many I can apply to myself. Love the images and characterisations. I too struggle with No 5 – badly! Mantra to self *Must stay on task* 🙂


  7. I love your tips. You have such an entertaining way of presenting them🙂 I struggle with number five, and I think that’s my personality leaking into my work. I like to know something before I talk about it, and force this restraint on my characters!


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

