Top 10 Commented-on Articles and Click-throughs in 2014

2013When readers take time to leave a comment and/or click through to a link I include in a post, it means they trust me, are engaged, and find what they’re reading valuable–want to extend it. This year, I had many more comments than in 2013–about 4200 (I know, Tess and Medeia. You-all get that in a couple of months). This compared to just over 9,000 over the life of my blog. Why? I’m not sure. I will say I selfishly have enjoyed my readers much more this year. The perspective I get and the vast range of experience is like nothing else in life. I live in a bubble and you-all let me venture out of it.

The 2014 articles that inspired this kind of activity from readers are special to me. I learn a lot by noticing what contributed to the WordDreams community.

Here they are–the ten most commented and most clicked-through articles I shared in 2013:

Top 10 commented-on articles

  1. 51 Great Similes to Spark Imagination
  2. 10 Tips for Picture Book Writers
  3. How to Describe an American–if You Aren’t
  4. 8 Tips for Historic Fiction Writers
  5. 13 Ways to Exorcise Wordiness
  6. 10 Tips for Steampunk Writers
  7. 6 Things I Wish I’d Known When I Started Blogging
  8. 178 Ways to Describe Women’s Clothing
  9. #IWSG–Am I a Storyteller?
  10. 14 Tips for Young Adult Writers

Click-throughs are another interesting metric. They tell me how many of the links I post readers actually investigate. They want more information, or primary sources for data, or maybe to purchase one of the books I review (I have an Amazon Associates account so each time a reader clicks through from my blog and buys the book, I get something like 3%).

On my tech-in-ed, blog, I get about 1,000 click-throughs a day–a big number! Normal is maybe 10% of readers, which is more like what I get on WordDreams. Here are the top sites that you found on WordDreams and wanted to go visit:

Top 10 click-throughs:


What were these on your blog? Do they reflect the goal set for your writing or were you surprised?

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of dozens of books on integrating tech into education, webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her books at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. 

Follow me.

20 thoughts on “Top 10 Commented-on Articles and Click-throughs in 2014

  1. Your very hard work pays off – good for you! You have lots of loyal followers.
    I remember several of these posts from when you first published them – they made that much of an impression on me. But the Steampunk one – I’m not sure I read that one. It’s just not my genre. Maybe I’ll check it out after all.


    • This blog has become a place I go to see my friends. I always go from here to their homes and check up on their lives. Some, I feel I know better than physical people.

      Steampunk–took me a long time to get to that genre and then I was surprised how many people responded. I learned a lot writing it.


  2. Hi Jacqui
    I did my first blog on Blogger and loved it really. The function I liked best was the ‘translation widget’ I could put on the side bar. I found this really increased the hits I got from all over the world – including eastern bloc countries like the Russian Federation, Ukraine, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland etc. I liked to feel that somehow my writing had extended beyond the US and UK and that, I feel, is the main downside of WordPress. There are so many other peoples and cultures out there.
    Thanks btw for your encyclopaedic tips on your site – I am slowly working my way through them and I, too, now know what ‘steampunk’ is!
    Evangeline (


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

