book reviews

Book Review: The Kill Order

The Kill OrderThe Kill Order

by Robin Burcell

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

View all my book reviews

Received for review from Amazon Vine

Robin Burcell’s The Kill Order (Sidney Fitzpatrick–Harper 2015) is the fifth in the FBI Special Agent Sydney and forensic artist Fitzpatrick series (the second series created by Burcell). Sydney becomes embroiled with a powerful computer code called the Devil’s Key. It’s repercussions are so extensive, it is considered a danger to national security and anyone in its possession is ordered to be killed–the Kill Order.

The problem starts when a deep-cover American agency asks Sydney to draw a profile picture of a man who twenty-year-old pickpocket (Piper) saw kill her boyfriend. Because Piper has an eidetic memory, she remembers minute details and quickly identifies the man as a powerful government official. To make things worse, Piper saw the Devil’s Key and now has it stuck in her brain, which means she must be killed. Sydney, with the help of the specialized government agency, decide to unravel why the code is so lethal and hopefully in that way, save the girl’s life. What they don’t expect is that doing this puts all of them in mortal danger.

The characters are interesting and clever and the plot fast-moving–in fact, it never slows down. The importance of the Devil’s Key is explained, but to me, not believably enough. I get that it’s a backdoor into sensitive computers. What I don’t get is why that isn’t solvable since it is a known problem. I found myself bogged down by the plot. At times, it seemed to be going in circles albeit at full speed, as the author tried to figure out where it was really headed.

I was disappoint that Sydney’s skills as a forensic artist didn’t show up more in the book. I know they’re spotlighted more in other volumes in the series (i.e., “Black List”), so Burcell might have wanted to broaden the foundation for the plot by delving into other areas. One other point that didn’t detract from the book’s score: I think this book would have been easier to understand if I’d read the previous books in the series. Characterizations were a bit sketchy and there were references to earlier cases that I assume were from prior books. I think if I’d read the books in order, I would have felt much closer to the characters.

Overall, a great read from a talented author. I will be reading the rest of the series–starting with Book 1.

If you’d like to purchase this book from Amazon, it’s available here:

The Kill Order (Sidney Fitzpatrick)

More books about FBI agents:

Book Review: Before Cain Strikes

Book Review: Hunted

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of dozens of books on integrating tech into education, webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. 

Follow me.

13 thoughts on “Book Review: The Kill Order

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Badlands | WordDreams...

  2. You certainly have a gift with words dear Jacqui… Your reviews are intriguing and they always catch my attention!…. Thanks for sharing! ~ Sending you all my best wishes!. Aquileana 😀


  3. This sounds interesting but like you, I also prefer to start at the beginning of a series as you do miss valuable character development. It can be a pain if the series is an already long running one. I like the sound of this but I would get frustrated if it wasn’t explained enough why people had to die.


    • For long-running series–I don’t mind starting at the beginning. The downside of that is lots of times the authors aren’t as good at their craft in those early books as later. I risk getting discouraged with the series. It’s happened a few times.


    • I love series, and this one sounds great. But, I do think it’s best read in order, like the Joe Pickett series I’m reading right now. A lot of foundation occurs in earlier books that helps understanding later plots.


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.