What are You Doing for Valentine’s Day?


After thirty years of marriage, Valentine’s Day has changed in my house. I’m fine with that. I have no interest fighting the crowds, receiving chocolate I can’t eat, or spending too much money on a restaurant when my husband is a better cook than most chefs. If you’re like me and want to stay home, here are a few websites that will help you feel like Valentine’s Day is different from all other days in February:

What are you-all doing for Valentine Day? Maybe I’ll change my plans.

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of dozens of books on integrating tech into education, webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. 

Follow me.

42 thoughts on “What are You Doing for Valentine’s Day?

  1. For my valentine – I always wish health to enjoy the day. He’s fought so many battles over the years, nothing could make my heart sing more than for him to have a day that’s actually pain free. Tom’s heart beats with mine, his heart is my home. The peace he gives my soul and he’s always my truest friend and saving grace, the one capable of making me feel whole when I’m already at the goal line.
    Tom cannot walk as a result of a stupid doctor prescribing a medication that ate the skin off the bottom of his feet and we’re now fighting the wounds left behind. Our love is as great for each other as it’s been every day since that day we met all those years ago.
    I’ve learned as each holiday approaches on the calendar, it is ours to celebrate in our own fashion for we are celebrating life itself.


  2. Not eating out is a good idea. We started calling around yesterday (Wednesday) at 9 a.m. for a table and found out almost every place in town was booked solid. We have a reservation for 3:30 on Saturday at The Chop House…eating like the old folks do!


  3. We try to show each other our love everyday so Valentine’s Day is just a fun excuse to do something a little extra. I’m not into gifts myself so we usually just pick a new restaurant to try out and have a nice meal.


  4. I’m probably not doing anything. As I’m sure most of cyberspace knows by now, money is tight for my husband and me. I may bake a cake or make pudding (either one will have to be made with Splenda), but that’s about it for us.


  5. It’s my 25th wedding anniversary. There’ll no doubt be dinner at our favorite restaurant. Some wine. We’ll dance in our front yard, while it’s raining. And howl at the moon.


  6. What I got from this most, was – you have a husband who cooks! Lol How fortunate!
    37yrs for me & you know we have Nerver done valentines- I know crazy for a Romance writer. I find Valentine Day a bit over-rated- & would rather celebrate milestones in relationships, instead. And on those days – I actually do enjoy a nice dinner somewhere just so I have a night off!


  7. Jacqui,
    As much as I usually rebel at commercial holiday trappings I actually think Valentine’s day rather sweet (pun intended). With or without the cards and candy our society can always use a reminder to celebrate love.
    with love, judy

    P.S. While I’m eating my Hershey’s kisses I imagine that all the collective tokens/thoughts/gestures of love float into the sky, get carried by the wind and DUMP on regions of strife and war and people who hate – my “hallmark” card to the world. I think Valentine’s day is wonderful with or without the commercial hype.


  8. Dear, Jacqui, leave it to you to amass a trophy case of appropriate holiday opportunities. I didn’t know that Chaucer had anything to do with Valentine’s Day, so now I’ll read and find out (course, it’s Wikipedia, so be cautious, despite its noble premise.)
    Here’s my favorite for you – because you taught me how to do this:❤


  9. My husband and I never do anything for Valentine’s. I know what a bad marriage is like even with special things done on the right days. My husband does cute things for me all year and works hard to keep me happy. I try to do the same🙂 Have a great day with the husband.


  10. We make it a practice not to celebrate “Hallmark” holidays. We object to being told that we have to love each other in a particular way–especially if it involves mandatory consumer spending. The other days get mention…Ground Hog day never passes without our commenting.


  11. I rather celebrate love everyday, not only on a specific day of the year. If you need a reminder to love your spouse, it’s something terribly wrong with you🙂


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

