book reviews

Katie O’Rourke’s Fascinating New Book

A_LONG_THAW_COMPLETEKatie O’Rourke and I are colleagues at Today’s Author, a group of authors who share writing ideas with all who stop by. She has two literary fiction novels under her belt. Monsoon Season, her debut novel, was a bestselling ebook and her second novel, A Long Thaw was released through Amazon Digital Publishing in 2014. Each writer’s story is a little different and Katie agreed to share her journey with you.


What is your marketing plan?

I am figuring that out as I go. Since A Long Thaw was previously traditionally published, a lot of the preliminary work has been done. It’s been professionally edited and vetted by a standard gatekeeper, which hopefully will help give it that little extra bit of credibility in the sea of self-published books.
I write a blog where I’m describing this whole journey. I have writer communities on Facebook and Authonomy. I sprang for a cover I really believe in. I’m  doing interviews and approaching book bloggers and, in the end, trusting in my readers. I already have some Amazon reviews from the first time the book was published and it’s done really well.
What is your favorite part of your book?
This book alternates narration between two female cousins and their grandmother.  It’s a fictional family saga, but the grandmother’s character is based on my own and her chapters are so dear to me. My grandmother passed away several years ago, but  she’s here in this book. I dedicated it to her.

What did you learn from writing this book?
It’s been a few years since I finished this one, and I’ve written three more since, so it’s hard to answer that specifically. I think I learn from each book I write and (I hope!) I’m becoming a better writer with every book I write.
Why should we read this book?
You should read this book if you love character driven stories. A Long Thaw deals with the power of secrets and the unbreakable bonds of family. This is book club fiction, women’s fiction with a literary bent. Readers of Sue Miller, Julia Glass and J Courtney Sullivan would appreciate this book.
What does your writing space look like?

I hate silence while I’m writing so there’s usually music blaring out of those speakers. I do a lot of work here, but I also have a netbook that I use on the couch. I’m looking forward to the invention of a cheap, portable computer you can read in sunlight so I can write in my backyard while getting a tan.


If you have questions, leave them for Katie. I know she’s around the eroom somewhere… When I re-read this interview, I had so many more questions, like how hard was it to switch from agent to self-pub.

Katie O’Rourke was born and raised in New England, growing up along the seacoast of New Hampshire. She went to college in Massachusetts and graduated with a degree in gender and sexuality. She lives in Tucson, Arizona where she writes, loves and is happy. If you’d like to purchase her book through Amazon, click the link below:

A Long Thaw

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of dozens of books on integrating tech into education, webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. 

Follow me

24 thoughts on “Katie O’Rourke’s Fascinating New Book

  1. Pingback: A Chat with Author, CW Spooner | WordDreams...

  2. Pingback: An Interview with Esther Newton | WordDreams...

  3. i want to thank jacqui so much for this interview- such thoughtful questions. as for how hard the switch has been- it was hard to get out of my contract with the publisher i was unhappy with. i never had an agent so i dealt with all that on my own. the self-pub has been really a breath of fresh air. i’m in control of it which feels so much better- sink or swim, i’m not waiting for anyone to return an email or whatever!


    • That helpful agent seems to be a myth of the past. I follow Janet Reid’s blog and always think she’s that long-gone agent. I love her answer, honesty. She may be the last of her kind.


  4. What a wonderful interview! You asked questions that let Katie divulge the essence of the book without telling the whole story. Now I’m intrigued and want to read it. Congrats to Katie, and thank you, Jacqui.


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

