To Hunt a Sub / writing

How I’m Doing on ‘To Hunt a Sub’–III

to do list for novelHere’s an update on my upcoming novel, To Hunt a Sub:

  • It’s fully drafted. Now I’m fact-checking
  • I’m awaiting eagerly a meeting with a friend who will help pin down some critical geeky, techie details. That’s my last step!
  • After that, I’ll re-read–for the fginal time I hop
  • I still need a cover. I’m finding images (like the ones I’ve posted in other articles on this topic, to see if they resonate long-term with my feeling for the book
  • I still need an editor. I have a couple of ideas. Anyone have one they love?
  • I have the publisher set up–the same people I’ve worked with on all my books. They’re amazing–fast, affordable, and good to work with

Sending it to the publisher of course doesn’t mean I’m done. It simply means a new TODO list that focuses on marketing. More on that later…

More on writing my novel:

Should I use my first name or an initial?

(Re)Starting a Novel–What are the Hurdles

How Do I Market My Upcoming Thriller?

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of dozens of books on integrating tech into education, webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, adjunct professor in tech ed, a columnist for and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. 

Follow me

48 thoughts on “How I’m Doing on ‘To Hunt a Sub’–III

  1. Pingback: Help Me Launch To Hunt a Sub? « Jacqui Murray

  2. Pingback: Can You Help Me Launch To Hunt a Sub? | WordDreams...

  3. Pingback: How I’m Doing on ‘To Hunt a Sub’–V | WordDreams...

  4. Pingback: How I’m Doing on ‘To Hunt a Sub’ « Jacqui Murray

  5. Pingback: How I’m Doing on ‘To Hunt a Sub’ | WordDreams...

  6. Am not blogging or following any editors or have any friends in the editing business here in SA Jacqui. I ‘know’ of a few who blog and offer their services but those names I can’t remember. Good luck as you approach the finishing line!


      • A pleasure Jacqui – let me know if I can advise in any way. Ballpark cost, reputation, whatever .. not that I know much. A US friend and I are writing a book and when she was here in Johannesburg towards end Oct last year we met with a potential publisher to whom we’d sent the first 3 chapters and synopsis and who said to rewrite with different focus … we’re still busy with it. We were charged for that meeting but it was a delight and worth every penny.


  7. Reading this is an inspiration. You have me thinking about when I finish my WIP. This is a very good thing. Until now, the goal has been fuzzy. Your post has cleaned my lens.😀


  8. So very excited for you, Jacqui, and very appreciative that you’re taking us along on your journey. I’m at about the same place with #3 WIP, but I lack your publishing experience, your computer skills, and social networking savvy – and your blog followers.
    Well, there are reasons for all of that, you’ve done an amazing job.


  9. Jacqui, are you looking for line editing or content editing? I would love to work with you. Perhaps we can start with a few chapters and come to an agreement (i.e., do you like my editing style? how much I would charge per word would depend on how excellent your writing is).


  10. An internet friend who published a book was told after the fact that she should have used her full name and not her initials. In this instance I think I agree. I do have an editor I could recommend though she’s here in South Africa. The rand to the dollar is much in your favour. I plan to use her (have met her, she suggested a re-write in a different fashion) when book is complete.
    Marketing? No clue ..
    You’ll do great!


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

