tech tips for writers / writers tips

Tech Tip for Writers #63: Don’t Like Double Space Between Paragraphs?

Tech Tips for Writers is an (almost) weekly post on overcoming Tech Dread. I’ll cover issues that friends, both real-time and virtual, have shared. Feel free to post a comment about a question you have. I’ll cover it in a future Tip.

Q: My Word 2010 came with a default for double space between paragraphs, but I don’t like that. I’ve tried to reset it to single space, but it doesn’t fix it. What do I do?

A: I don’t either. What was Bill Gates thinking? Don’t as many people start a paragraph with a tab indent as a double space between paragraphs?

Now I have to fix that every time I open a Word doc. Here’s how to do it (in Word 2010):

  • Go to Page Layout
  • Go to Paragraph, Spacing
  • Make sure ‘after’ is set to 0–not 10.

To make this the default:

  • Under the ‘Home’ tab, go to ‘Paragraph
  • Click the little dot in the lower right corner
  • Change the ‘after’ spacing to 0
  • At the bottom of the dialog box, click ‘set as default’.

Now the world spins just a bit nicer.

Questions you want answered? Leave a comment here and I’ll answer it within the next thirty days.

More Tech Tips for writers:

Tech Tip for Writers #62: Emailing from Word

6 Tips That Solve Half Your Tech Writing Problems

12 Spring Cleaning Steps for Your Computer

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of dozens of books on integrating tech into education, webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, adjunct professor of technology in education, a columnist for and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. 

31 thoughts on “Tech Tip for Writers #63: Don’t Like Double Space Between Paragraphs?

  1. Pingback: Tech Tip for Writers #65: How to use Google Street View | WordDreams...

    • There are so many that make life easier. I love finding them. My current favorite is tht you can break the keyboard into two thumb able pieces with the outward flick of both thumbs. You get this


  2. I’ve done this myself. I used to like Word’s default settings, but in the past few years the spacing has bothered me, as well as the automatic font. I do change the default settings to my liking.


  3. Although I would rather write on every line of a page, when it comes to someone editing it, I understand why so many insist on double spacing. Even my writing buddy has requested it. To accommodate her, the copy I send her is altered from my original. yWriter is set up for every line to be written on, which is one of the many reasons I use the program.


  4. The default double spacing drives me nuts. Sometimes I manage to fix it but I’ve never taken note of how I did it, so next time I’m back at square one. I’ve bookmarked this page for next time – thank you for the tip🙂


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

