tech tips for writers / writers tips

Tech Tip for Writers #67: How to Add Accents and more

Tech Tips for Writers is an (almost) weekly post on overcoming Tech Dread. I’ll cover issues that friends, both real-time and virtual, have shared. Feel free to post a comment about a question you have. I’ll cover it in a future Tip.

Q: I have foregin words in my novel and need a quick way to add accents to words. Can you help?

A: You can go through the symbols library, but there’s an easier way. Use the Ctrl key + a symbol + a letter. Here is a table:

keyboard shortcuts for accents

Keyboard shortcuts for accents, etc.

You probably always wondered what that key was to the left of the ‘1’, under the tilde.

Questions you want answered? Email me at and I’ll answer it within the next thirty days.

More Tech Tips for writers:

Tech Tips for Writers #54: How to Auto Forward a PowerPoint Slideshow

Tech Tips for Writers #53: How to Pin Any Program to the Start Menu

Tech Tips for Writers #51: Copy Images From Google Images

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of dozens of books on integrating tech into education, webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, adjunct professor of technology in education, a columnist for and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. 

55 thoughts on “Tech Tip for Writers #67: How to Add Accents and more

  1. Pingback: Tech Tip for Writers #115: The 3-Click Rule « Jacqui Murray

  2. Pingback: Tech Tip for Writers #71: Visit Foreign Language Google Search | WordDreams...

  3. Pingback: Tech Tip for Writers #70: Make your desktop icons Big or Little | WordDreams...

  4. Simple enough Jacqui. But I had no clue about it😦 Tried it out in Word. Do not seem to work on this page. Are these Word Processor specific? In any case, thanks for your continued tips and suggestions.


  5. Can those really be done by just 2 hands of fingers? Of course, I couldn’t do it anyway because I just have the one hand of fingers to use. Now here at WordPress, the editor has a tab to the accents and almost anything else you can’t find on your straight keyboard. Interesting to know though.😛


  6. Another handy way to handle accented letters in Microsoft Word is through AutoCorrect. If it’s in a word you use a lot, you can look it up in the Symbols thing once, copy-paste it into the AutoCorrect menu, and then set it to always add that accent. It’s good for short term use–like when I was taking a class on the Spanish Conquest of Mesoamerica, and had a professor who was a stickler for accent marks, so I set the AutoCorrect to always put an accent mark on the “e” in Cortes–or long term, if you’re writing a novel or series, or whatever. (I *love* AutoCorrect. Rather, I love to *abuse* AutoCorrect. I use it to write out long words that I’m too lazy to write out (I had a place name that was three words long in a NaNo novel once) or character names I often mispell, like Atalanta.)


  7. Useful table, though not so much for Icelandic, Swedish, Danish and Norwegian.
    I load the relevant language and change from English to Swedish,
    though some years ago I kept a Word document with the relevant letters and used copy and paste. Your method would be much better.


  8. Yay! This is fabulous!
    Sometimes the computer will self correct but most of the time it ignores my pleading. Now I can affix the correct symbol and seem so erudite. Thank you, Jacqui. These tips are great.


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

