My 4 Must-Do Writing Goals This Summer

summerSummer should carry a warning label–Caution! That sense of lots of time to get everything done isn’t true! Every year, I start summer with a massive ToDo list, and by August, my good intentions have folded in on themselves like a black hole. Thanks to all of your suggestions from about a month ago, I’m going to be more practical this summer.

In my life, I wear two hats–tech teacher and writer. With a lot of coffee, a moderate amount of aspirin, and good luck (which I’ll settle for in the absence of miracles), I see no reason I can’t do both. Here are my top four summer goals:

Online Classes

I’m teaching four online classes in June and July–using online tools, the Tech-infused Teacher, the Differentiated Teacher, and an online keyboarding immersion class. Each is three-five weeks long with lots of online materials, video presentations, and interaction. At the end, you get either college credit or a certificate. I’m excited about these and looking forward to being involved.

Sound like it has nothing to do with writing? Wrong. I spend a lot of time preparing materials, making sure they’re clear, editing/formatting and rewriting to make them appropriate to my audience and goals. Is that familiar? It should be. It’s what authors constantly do. Every time I write, I practice writing. Was I clear? Concise? Did I engage my audience? Did I make them want more? I never throw words out there that haven’t been vetted. It has to do with my credibility and my platform as a writer.


I’m finishing up my fiction mss, To Hunt a Sub. By July, I hope to send it out to agents. When (if) that doesn’t work, by August/September, I’ll self-pub. Before that can be done, I’ll find a copy editor to check my grammar/spelling, get someone talented to design my cover, and probably get help uploading it to Kindle.

When the mss is finished, I’ll work on a series of non-fiction I write about technology in education. I want to get twelve books done by January. I’ve done two. Hmm…

Along with these writing activities, I write 3-6 posts each week for each of my three blogs, approximately an article a week for ezines I write for, and miscellaneous writing that comes my way.

Online Seminars

I’m not going to any physical conferences this summer, instead, relying on webinars. Here, all attendees sit at their computers wherever they are and watch what is usually a slideshow presentation. We can post questions that are answered in an orderly fashion. Microphones are muted automatically by the presenter. Me, I like interactive participation, but I understand this more passive approach. It limits interruptions and allows more people to attend (GHOs top out at about 10).


I need to clean up my blogs–re categorize posts, fix broken links, that sort. It’s been on my ToDo list for a long time and I never seem to get that far. I’m hopeful this time I will.

There you have it. As I re-read it, I’m already wondering when I’ll sleep, pet the dog and smell the flowers. But I’m a writer. I don’t intimidate easily, so let’s talk again in September. In case you agree with my mother that I do too much, you might notice that last year, the list included seven goals–now I’m only aiming for four. And, check out my efriend Medeia Sharif. She’d have my entire list completed in a month, or less.

What are your summer plans?

More on summer writing:

10 Digital Tricks to Add Zip to Your Roadtrip

Forget Summer Reading. The Classics are Timeless

5 Top Steps to Market Your Books this Summer

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of dozens of books on integrating tech into education, webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, adjunct professor of technology in education, a columnist for Examiner.com and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. 

40 thoughts on “My 4 Must-Do Writing Goals This Summer

  1. Well, since I had been in the hospital for about a week, and, then, in a skilled nursing facility for a few more days, I am bound and determined to stay healthy, the good Lord willing !!!!


  2. Are you doing any sleeping this summer?

    I’d take your keyboard class but I doubt it would do me any good. I learned typing with one hand in my 1st year of college. Most of it I’ve forgotten and just type on the keyboard looking at it constantly. Even then, I’m luck if I can type more than 20 words per minute.

    Do take time to enjoy the summer too.


  3. Jacqui, I know there are at least 2 of you. You plan well and maybe that’s’ why you’re successful. I don’t plan much, just try to get through the chaff that blows my way. This summer – I just want to get through it. Still, I have no right to complain, with far fewer real life obstacles others endure gracefully.
    Best to you on your endeavors – you’ll accomplish all.


  4. How you define goals and how I count ’em . . . .

    Your FOUR goals:
    1- PREPARE & teach 4 Online Classes (counts for at LEAST 4 goals)
    2 – Finish Novel & Send to editors (2 goals)
    3-6 posts a week for 3 months (36-72 goals)
    3 – Online SeminarS (plural? 1 goal per seminar)
    4 – Maintenance (Each blog/4goals)

    Total Goals: 47 at a MINIMUM

    I think you’ve created a massive to-do list in disguise!!!!!!


  5. Wow, when you set yourself targets you really go to town! I’ll look forward to learning how you do with those. In particular I’m looking forward to the release of To Hunt a Sub. Finalising that will be a happy Summer project😀


  6. I’m worn out just from reading your list, Jacqui. I’m working on mine list now and am taking July and August off away from blogging because I have way too much half finished projects, and need to recharge. o_O


    • Well, I start with a nap, so I do have my priorities right. Then there’s a nice cuppa.

      You really can’t take two months off blogging, Tess. At least let us know what project you’ve completed and which you’re starting. Then I can visualize your progress.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. So just a quiet peaceful boring summer then! lol Have fun and good luck with all your activities. I’m off to Sweden for five weeks, not much wifi. TV, so hopefully in between relaxing should get lots of writing done.


      • It is but must admit that I’ll grab the writing moments when I can as my son is with me so we are busy having lots of fun. I do get fit though, lots of footballs, badminton, swimming, walks. Plus afternoon wine breaks with my mother under the fir trees listening to the breeze whispering their secrets. Sorry…you have had me thinking of the summer holiday all day and my mind is already there!! Seriously, take those moments for the flowers, books, for yourself, they are very important.


  8. The problem with summer, I find, is the large expanse of lawn, hedges and trees which take up so much of my time and energy. I really quite like winter.


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

