To Hunt a Sub

How I’m Doing on ‘To Hunt a Sub’–IV

tridentAfter a four-year hiatus from the first book in my Delamagente-Rowe series, I finally think I’ll get it done. I had a few interruptions–agent interest in the series’ second book, deadline for two non-fic series I write–but I think I’m going to make it this time. The short blurb for this thriller–still a work-in-progress is:

…a brilliant PhD candidate, a cynical ex-SEAL, and a quirky bot team up to stop terrorists from stealing America’s most powerful nuclear weapon, the Trident submarine.

Here’s what I did this week:

  • finished the final draft. I still have the Prologue to tighten up, but that’s it. Ah, I can almost smell the scent of freshly-printed books awaiting their new owners.
  • creating a short list (not my usual 101 people) of agents who might be interested. I’d love for this to work because then I don’t have to design the cover, copy edit, arrange printing–but I’m fine self-publishing. Part of what slowed this book down (and the other three I have languishing in the bottom drawer of my desk) was waiting for responses. More importantly: Hoping for acceptances that never arrived. I’m not going down that rabbit hole again.
  • thought about reviewing my acknowledgements. A lot of people helped me with their knowledge of military procedures, but it’s been awhile and I need to make sure the information is still current.
  • thought about the cover. I have found a few people who might be able to help with that.
  • thought about a copy editor. Like the cover, I have a few names, maybe narrowed down to one. I’m crossing my fingers
  • not yet thinking about marketing. Maybe that’ll show up on the next update.
  • not yet thinking about a book trailer. I’ve seen some I like done with a free tool like Animoto. That’s probably the direction I’ll go if I even do this.

By this time next month, I hope to be waiting for responses from agents, starting on my next project.

More on To Hunt a Sub’s progress:

How I’m Doing on ‘To Hunt a Sub’

How I’m Doing on ‘To Hunt a Sub’

How I’m Doing on ‘To Hunt a Sub’

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of dozens of books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. 

43 thoughts on “How I’m Doing on ‘To Hunt a Sub’–IV

  1. Pingback: Can You Help Me Launch To Hunt a Sub? | WordDreams...

  2. I was intrigued by your link you posted. So I decided to come and see what “To Hunt a Sub” is all about. Which of course lead me to reading other blogs of yours on the subject. It sounds like a great story and one that I would read and enjoy. I hope that someone takes the bait on your draft! Good Luck!


  3. oooh, the finish line is in sight, just around the corner! I can feel the excitement and tension Jacqui! I’m sure you’re anticipating the moment when you can say DONE! Love the sub jumping up and down in the sea – even if subs don’t jump!


  4. Well done Jacqui. It’s important for you to recognize the importance of what you’ve achieved. Maybe a bottle of bubbly to mark this landmark. Hooray!


  5. Jacqui, I’m thrilled for you. The logline is great – exciting and compelling, exactly what you want for this book. I’m pulling for you for traditional publishing just for the cache, but however it finally shows its face, I will purchase! Can’t wait to read it!


      • Mama is complete. Looking for a beta reader with no idea how to go about getting one. Editing Table for what I hope is the very last time. Then will edit Tree House, also hoping for very last time. Need to get serious about querying all 3, but with all that’s going on in my life right now – hard to focus. Thank you for asking.
        Hope to see you on July 6. My chapter is up – Mama.
        Give the big pooch a big scratch behind his ears, from me!


    • I’m well past excitement, into exhaustion and the thrill of finishing the race. If it were a marathon, I’d be stumbling across the finish line, hours after everyone else, with a grin on my face.


  6. Happy to meet you here, thanks for liking my author blog. It’s always nice to make new friends. I am glad I am not alone taking a few years to write a book! When I see authors publishing several a year I feel panic coming on…but I can’t work like that. The mention of the Naval Academy is interesting. My young niece has been head-hunted by West Point and is trying to make up her mind where (University) she might study. She lives in Annapolis. Small world. Back soon I hope🙂


      • Not only do these kids get a college scholarship, by about Year 3, they get paid monthly for their work. When they graduate, they have four years of seniority time in the service. Amazing.

        My daughter loves it. She had one tour that was more challenging than the others, but still she learned a lot. Now, she can’t imagine a job she’d like better (she’s working in DC).


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

