tech tips for writers / writers tips

Tech Tip for Writers #70: Make your desktop icons Big or Little

Tech Tips for Writers is an (almost) weekly post on overcoming Tech Dread. I’ll cover issues that friends, both real-time and virtual, have shared. Feel free to post a comment about a question you have. I’ll cover it in a future Tip.

Q:The desktop icons are tiny on my desktop. I don’t know how it happened, so I don’t know how to undo it. Please help!

A: This solution I learned in self-defense, like many other tips I share, when my students figured it out and made my desktop icons HUGE or tiny. Here’s how you fix that:

  • Highlight all desktop icons by clicking and dragging a box around them
  • Push Ctrl and roll the mouse wheel.
  • It enlarges or delarges for you

That’s it. How wonderful. I no longer have to squint at icons too small for my eyes.

More tech tips for writers:

Tech Tip for Writers #67: How to Add Accents and more

Tech Tip for Writers #65: How to use Google Street View

Tech Tip for Writers #48: Quickly Switch Between Windows

Questions you want answered? Email me at and I’ll answer.

Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author/editor of dozens of books on integrating tech into education, adjunct professor of technology in education, webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer,  a columnist for and TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, monthly contributor to Today’s Author and a freelance journalist on tech ed topics. You can find her book at her publisher’s website, Structured Learning. 


22 thoughts on “Tech Tip for Writers #70: Make your desktop icons Big or Little

  1. Great tip. I’ll save it. I don’t have this particular problem so far as my tech guy knows I’m blind. However, he just doesn’t get it when I tell him how important it is to me when I want my Rhapsody icon to actually open my Rhapsody account. I could click on it all day and nothing happens. I hate going to the net and signing in but I also hate being without music. Do you have a solution for me?


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

